Skip to main content

Children's Literature

Guide to finding articles, books and media about children's literature in SUSS and elsewhere.

Getting Started

Welcome to our Children's Literature Research Guide

This guide gives an overview of materials and resources available at SUSS Library and beyond for researchers in Children's Literature. Use the tabs on the left for finding articles, books, background information and more.

Books

Sample keywords in children's literature include the following. When you find appropriate items, use keywords and subject headings from the records to improve your subsequent searches.
  • juvenile literature
  • juvenile fiction
  • juvenile poetry
 
​Also consider combining your topic with these terms:
  • family relationships juvenile fiction
 
Useful subject searches for finding fairy tales and folklore and teaching with these books:
  • fairy tales study and teaching
  • fables study and teaching
  • folklore

 

Search for eBooks, Articles & More

Articles

Education Research Complete

Covers the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
 

Emerald Journals (Education Collection)

​​Article catalogue of research published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.

 

ERIC

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. It includes records for a variety of source types, including journal articles, books, conference papers and curriculum guides.

 

Project MUSE

A provider of digital humanities and social sciences content.

 

ProQuest Education Collection

Provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education researcg, in combination with the full-text Education database.


SAGE Journals (SAGE Humanities and Social Science 2018 Collection)

High-quality journals across the social science disciplines and discover widely-cited works of leading authors, researchers and societies across disciplines such as psychology, sociology, health and behavioural sciences.



Open Access

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Independent, community-curated online directory of high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

 

Loading ...

Search

Learn the basics of searching in this handy tutorial.


Advanced Search

Find out about the advanced search functionality of the Emerald research platform.

Loading ...

Videos

Click here to view YouTube video in another tab.

 

Loading ...

Links Beyond SUSS

International Children's Digital Library

The mission of the International Children's Digital Library Foundation (ICDL Foundation) is to support the world's children in becoming effective members of the global community who exhibit tolerance and respect for diverse cultures, languages and ideas -- by making the best in children's literature available online free of charge. The Foundation pursues its vision by building a digital library of outstanding children's books from around the world and supporting communities of children and adults in exploring and using this literature through innovative technology designed in close partnership with children for children.

The Inside, Outside, and Upside Downs of Children's Literature: From Poets and Pop-ups to Princesses and Porridge by Dr. Jenifer Schneider

An open access textbook on children's literature hosted by Scholar Commons at the University of South Florida.

Children's literature is written for children and youth, but the analysis of children's literature requires careful attention to text as well insightful interpretation of the ways in which authors and illustrators present the human condition, the physical world, imaginative experiences, and global forces. Children's literature is also a $4-billion-a-year industry that impacts social practices, politics, financial markets, schools, literacy rates, history, and art. Whatever the reason for your interest, children's literature is a big deal. Read on...

The Lion and the Unicorn

An international theme- and genre-centered  journal, The Lion and the Unicorn is committed to a serious, ongoing discussion of literature for children. The journal's coverage includes the state of the publishing industry, regional authors, comparative studies of significant books and genres, new developments in theory, the art of illustration, mass media, and popular culture. It is especially noted for its interviews with authors, editors, and other important contributors to the field, as well as its outstanding book review section. Read on...
The Deakin Review of Children's Literature is an electronic quarterly review of contemporary English-language materials of interest to children and young adults. Of particular use to librarians, parents, teachers and anyone working with young people, it also publishes news and opinions relevant to children's literacy. Read on...
Loading ...