Databases A-Z

Featured Databases

The most frequently used databases/ e-collections

Featured

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Factiva

Featured

Factiva is a global news database of nearly 33,000 premium sources, including newspapers, licensed publications, influential websites and blogs.
FAQ on Factiva.

SAGE Premier

Featured

Alternate Name(s) SAGE Premier

Access 1,100 social sciences and humanities journals from SAGE Premier, including titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.

Title List

New / Trial Databases and Collections

The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

New

Alternate Name(s) BAS

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is a bibliographical database published by the Association for Asian Studies covering all subjects in the humanities and social sciences. It allows the discovery of citations of Western-language journal articles, review articles, conference proceedings, and book chapters on Asia including Southeast Asia.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Trial

This database contains abstracts and full-text articles on criminal justice and criminology research covering forensic sciences, corrections, policing, criminal law, and investigation.

Do have a look at the database and give us your feedback.
Trial ends on 30/6/2024.

De Gruyter All eBook

Trial

This database covers over 63,000 eBooks, spanning 29 subject areas from humanities to sciences and technology. Additionally, it offers more than 2,000 publications from ISEAS Publishing.

Do explore the database and give us your feedback.

Trial ends on 31/5/2024.

EDUCAUSE

New

You can use EDUCAUSE to access:
• EDUCAUSE Showcase Series that provides urgent issues identified by the higher education community each year
• EDUCAUSE Review eJournal to find out about higher education IT trends
• EDUCAUSE Connect to engage with the higher education technology professionals and community of practitioners
• research and publications on challenges and opportunities in higher education IT

Registration is required to access EDUCAUSE. Please see EDUCAUSE's Terms of Use and Privacy Notice.

FAQ on EDUCAUSE is here.

For help on the EDUCAUSE platform, please email info@educause.edu.

Gartner Core IT Research for Higher Education

New

You can use Gartner to access:
• the latest IT research and technology news, case studies and trends to support your research and business projects
• research special reports - providing insights into major business and technology trends
• Gartner® Magic Quadrant, Vendor Ratings and Hype Cycles, to inform plans and support business decisions

Access via mobile apps (iOS/ Android) is unavailable.

Please see their Terms of use.

FAQ on Gartner is here.

For help on the Gartner platform, please email feedback@gartner.com

HeinOnline

Trial

This database comprises the following five collections:

1. HeinOnline Code of Federal Regulations.
Includes the codification of the general and permanent rules and regulations published in the Federal Register dating back to its inception in 1938.

2. HeinOnline Federal Register.
Includes presidential documents, as well as rules, proposed rules, regulations, and notices from various government agencies including the Department of Homeland Security, the Securities and Exchange Commission, the Environmental Protection Agency, and the Department of Justice.

3. HeinOnline Legal Classics.
Includes classic treatises written by Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham and William Blackstone.

4. HeinOnline U.S. Congressional Documents.
Includes the complete Congressional Record, congressional hearings, committee prints, CRS Reports, House documents, and Senate documents.

5. HeinOnline World Constitutions Illustrated.
Includes information on worldwide constitutional and political development.

Do have a look at the database and give us your feedback.
Trial ends on 30/6/2024.

Journal Citation Reports

New

Alternate Name(s) JCR

Journal Citation Reports (JCR) provide impact factors and rankings of journals indexed in the Web of Science based on citation data to identify high-quality research works.

JCR has provided its learning resources here

Knovel

New

Access the Aerospace & Radar Technology Academic collection from the Knovel database covering over 600 e-books.

Besides e-books, the database also includes interactive tools such as equations, unit converter, interactive graphs and tables. See more info here.

Knovel has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here

Legal Source

Trial

This database comprises 650 active full-text journals, 373 full-text law reviews, and 243 journals with searchable cited references.

Do have a look at the database and give us your feedback.
Trial ends on 30/6/2024.

Nature

New

SUSS Library subscribes to the following eJournals:
- Nature
- Nature Energy
- Nature Human Behaviour

Titles will be added over time for your online and offline access. :

O'Reilly for Higher Education

New

O'Reilly for Higher Education (previously known as Safari Technical Books) is a training and learning platform on information technology and business. It contains more than 35,000 ebooks, videos, courses, learning paths, playlists, and case studies on emerging trends such as artificial intelligence, big data, financial technology (FinTech), and gaming. Participating publishers include Addison-Wesley Professional, IBM Redbooks, McGraw-Hill, Microsoft Press, O'Reilly Media, and Packt Publishing.

Please refer to the FAQ on the access method.
You can also refer to the user guide for details.

ProQuest One Business

New

This platform combines multiple ProQuest business databases such as ABI/Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking, and Entrepreneurship, with more than 28,000 eBooks, journals, news, and company reports. Includes Wall Street Journal, MIT Sloan Management Review, Business Insider, and J P Morgan Research. Fitch Connect's country and risk industry reports are also available.

ProQuest has provided additional product information here.

SpringerLink

New

Access 62 Springer Nature's ebooks comprising 28 publications authored or edited by current SUSS Faculty from the SpringerLink database . Please see the up-to-date list (as at 31 Jan 2023) here

You can also access 6 Springer eJournal titles from this platform:

- Applied Research in Quality of Life
- Climatic Change
- Higher Education
- International Journal for the Advancement of Counselling
- Journal of Computing in Higher Education
- Journal of Cross-Cultural Gerontology

Web of Science

New

Alternate Name(s) Web of Knowledge

Web of Science provides access to the following indexes subscribed by the library to enable you to identify highly cited articles based on the authors, institutions, subjects, and publications:
1. SCIE - Science Citation Index Expanded (from 1998)
2. SCCI - Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1998)
3. AHCI - Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (from 1998)
4. ESCI - Emerging Sources Citation Index (available from 2005)
5. CPCI - Conference Proceedings Citation Index (including Science and Social Sciences) (from 1998)

Web of Science has provided its learning resources here.