Skip to main content

SUSS It Out!

Complimentary Access to eResources during COVID-19 pandemic

by Manimekalai T on 2020-04-23T10:24:00+08:00 | Comments

Publishers all over the world have been showing their support for online learning by providing complimentary access to some of their eResources during the COVID-19 pandemic. Here are 6 of them selected by us, namely: 2,000 Cambridge e-books, 256 Elsevier e-textbooks, 35,000 JSTOR e-books, all OECD content, newspapers by Singapore Press Holdings as well as 146 World Scientific e-journals. Do remember to take note of their respective access periods: 

Cambridge University Press Launches Cambridge Core | STM ...

Cambridge Core (access ends on 28 Jun 31 May 2020)

A collection of over 2,000 ebooks hosted on Cambridge Core. This collection includes HTML textbooks, Cambridge Histories, Cambridge Companions, and Cambridge Elements. The books cover a wide-range of disciplines, including physics, earth science, life science, mathematics, engineering, and the social sciences and humanities. 

Access via Databases A-Z https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/az.php?a=c

  • Select the option “Cambridge Journals Online”
  • Key in the search terms
  • Select the filter "Only show content that I have access to"
  • Select the filters "Books" & "Series" to view a list of available resources

 

An Introduction to ScienceDirect - New Trends in English Language ...

Elsevier ScienceDirect – 256 textbooks (access ends on 15 Jun 2020)

Elsevier has opened up free access to 256 textbooks to support learning. These books cover topics such as Biotechnology, Business Analytics, Engineering, Mathematics, and Statistics.

Access via Databases A-Z https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/az.php?a=s.

  • Select one of the options “Science Direct Journals”
  • At the option "Refine publications by", select "All domains"
  • At the option "Publication type", select  "Books"
  • At the option "Access type", select "Subscribed & complimentary" to view the list of books

 

undefined

JSTOR (access ends on 30 Jun 2020 31 Aug 2020)

Access more than 35,000 available books, in addition to all JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections. 

Archive Journal Collections https://about.jstor.org/whats-in-jstor/journals/ - Business IV, Ecology & Botany Ii, Hebrew Journal, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Life Science

Thematic Collections https://about.jstor.org/whats-in-jstor/thematic-collections/ - Live of Literature, Security Studies, Sustainability

Primary Source https://about.jstor.org/whats-in-jstor/primary-sources/ - 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, Global Plants

Access via Databases A-Z https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/az.php?a=j

  • Select “Advanced Search”
  • Key in the search terms
  • Selection the option “Content I can access”

 

OECD ECONOMIC OUTLOOK

OECD (access ends on 31 Dec 2020)

Access books, papers and statistics on all 17 themes - Agriculture & Food, Development, Economics, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Finance and Investment, Governance, Industry and Services, Nuclear Energy, Science and Technology, Social Issues/ Migration/ Health, Taxation, Trade, Transport & Urban, Rural and Regional Development.

Access via Databases A-Z https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/az.php?a=o

  • Select “OECD”
  • Select the option "Browse by Theme"

 

Singapore Press Holdings - SPH Digital & Home Delivery Subscriptions

 

The National Library Board (NLB) has made an arrangement with Singapore Press Holdings to make all newspapers available to NLB members. The papers include The Straits Times, The Business Times, The New Paper, Lianhe Zao Bao, Lianhe Wan Bao, Shin Min Daily News , Berita Harian and Tamil Murasu.

Access directly via NLB's website (access ends on 1 Jun 2020)

World Scientific Publishing : Quotes, Address, Contact

World Scientific – 146 Journals (access ends on 30 Jun 31 Jul 2020)

Access notable journals by World Scientific such as The Journal of FinTech, The Hong Kong Journal of Social Work, Mathematical Models and Methods in Applied Sciences & The American Journal of Chinese Medicine. There are a total of 146 journals covering subjects such as Asian Studies, Business & Management, Economics & Finance, Engineering/ Acoustics and Social Sciences.

Access via Databases A-Z https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/az.php?a=w

  • Select the option “World Scientific eBooks”
  • Select the option “Journals” from the Menu Bar
  • Key in the search terms or scroll down the page to browse the journals by subject

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...