Skip to Main Content

A Guide to Using the Library: Associates & Faculty Edition

1. Welcome to SUSS Library!

Find us here at library.suss.edu.sg!


Start your learning and research journey with us! Make SUSS Library your first stop for electronic resources for your assignments and academic research.

This guide serves as a little overview of what the library offers, and how you can make the most of our resources to support your research.

You can always Ask The Library by emailing us at ask@suss.libanswers.com, or check out our FAQs.

2. Library Search

Your Journey Begins Here.

Enter your keywords into the search box on the SUSS Library website to look for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, news, reports, dissertations, proceedings, videos, datasets and more. You may also access Primo directly for more options, e.g., title and author searches.

undefined

3. Login

Sign into your account with your SUSS username and password (the same ID and password you use to login to Canvas and Associate Portal) to carry out more complete searches and get secured access to licensed resources. By logging in, you will also be able to save your search results (using the thumbtack icon) for future reference.

undefined

undefined

Learn how to log in here.

Forgot your password, or need to reset your account? Learn how to do so here.

4. Databases A-Z

 

undefined

 

Browse library databases and e-collections for your teaching and research at Databases A-Z.

If you are looking for a specific journal, go to Journals A-Z on Primo and key in the journal’s title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).

If you are searching for newspaper articles, please do so directly on Newslink or Factiva instead.

Most of our ebooks are hosted in eBook Collection (EBSCO). To browse this and other book collections, select eBook Collection as Database Type at Databases A-Z.

5. Journals A-Z & BrowZine

To read your favorite journals on the go, download the BrowZine app to your preferred devices:


https://thirdiron.com/download-browzine
 

An overview of BrowZine can be found in this how-to guide.

You can also directly search our Journals A-Z.

6. Library Tools

Should you come across resources outside SUSS Library, we have tools available to make accessing them easier for you.

Check out our guide to RemoteXs Proxy Bookmarklet, LibKey Nomad, and learn how to link your Google Scholar with SUSS Library.

7. Ask The Library

We have prepared some FAQs which you may also find helpful. Can’t find the answer you need? Send in your question or make an appointment with our librarians.

We're available weekdays, 9.30am to 5.30pm (and until 6pm on Wednesdays).

undefined

 

8. Research Guides

We also build Research Guides to connect students to key resources in their field of study, help them make the most of the library, and more. We welcome opportunities to work with you to help students leverage library resources for specific courses. Connect with us at library@suss.edu.sg.

Do check out our blog, SUSS It Out! as well, for library updates, extra tips and tricks relating to resources, and academic life in general:

9. Instruction Sessions and Workshops

We conduct library workshops to develop students’ information literacy skills. We also work with faculty on library instructional sessions tailored to your course goals. Get in touch with us to schedule in-class library sessions for your students.

We also recommend to students a course on Information Literacy in LinkedIn Learning as well as other bite-sized videos we have curated in collections such as ‘Conducting a Literature Review’ and ‘Citing Academic Papers’.

10. Library Materials Requisition Form

Use the Library Materials Requisition Form to recommend library resources for your respective programmes. This User Guide will help you get started.

Help build the Library collection by recommending new resources, including Open Access titles, and providing your evaluations of databases on trial.

11. Learning Spaces

Partnership with SIM Library

In light of the COVID-19 situation, please refer to this blog post for updates.


We have also provided you with student membership to SIM’s Tay Eng Soon Library, located at Block A, Level 2, for physical library materials and other on-site services and facilities.

Please refer to their website for your borrowing privileges: https://library.sim.edu.sg/

You might also refer to SIM Library Fast Facts to get acquainted with the library.
 

Operating Hours of SIM Library

Mondays to Fridays: 9am to 5pm
Saturdays: 9am to 5pm (by email or phone only)

SIM Library extends its operating hours during exam periods. Please check the SIM Library website or SIM Library Facebook page for updates.
 

Contact SIM Library

Email: libenq@sim.edu.sg
Phone: +65 6248 9601
 

SIM Library Login

Username: Student PI Number
Password: Date of Birth (DDMMYYYY)
 

SIM Library Mobile App

Download the mobile app at PlayStore (Android) and AppStore (IOS) to:

  • View loans, requests and reservations
  • Check availability of library books and facilities
  • Receive alerts on library news and events
  • Email or make calls to SIM Library helpdesk

 

SMS Notification Service

SMS messages include friendly loan reminders and alerts for reserved print books:

  • Friendly Loan Reminder
    SMS notification will be sent out at 6am, three days before the due date.
  • Alert - Availability of Reserved Items
    SMS notification will be sent out immediately when the item requested is available.

eBrochure

eBrochure

 

Videos

Videos

 

undefined

(Click image to open video)

You may also view our library orientation videos in Panopto:

9 Ways to Get the Most out of Your University Library (English version)
9 Ways to Get the Most out of Your University Library (Mandarin version)

How to login to Panopto