Skip to main content

Social Work

Guide to finding articles, books and media about social work in SUSS and elsewhere.

Getting Started

Welcome to our Social Work Research Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at SUSS Library and beyond for researchers in Social Work. Use the tabs on the left for finding articles, books, background information and more.

Books

Articles

SocINDEX with Full-Text
Broad range of studies, including social psychology and social work.
 

Social Work Abstracts 

Useful across many disciplines, including family studies, psychology and social work.
 

SAGE Journals (SAGE Humanities and Social Science 2018 Collection)

High-quality journals across the social science disciplines and discover widely-cited works of leading authors, researchers and societies across disciplines such as psychology, sociology, health and behavioural sciences.
 

Emerald Journals (Health & Social Care Collection)

Real-world scenarios like inequalities in healthcare provision, parity of physical and mental health and caring for an ageing population and recommended improvements and solutions from leading thinkers in the field.
 

PsycARTICLES

​​Article catalogue of research published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.


​PsycTESTS

Extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioural and social sciences.
 
SAGE Research Methods

Provide social Work students and practitioners with systematic tools to explore the research methods terrain to find, collect, analyze and interpret data.
 

SAGE Research Methods Cases

Hundreds of case studies showing how methods are applied in real research projects.
 

SAGE Research Methods Datasets

Practice datasets to help you master qualitative and quantitative data analysis.


Open Access

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Independent, community-curated online directory of high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.


​OMICS International

Online publishing house that promotes scientific research via its open access journals and by organizing international conferences.
 

PubMed

Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Loading ...

Help Guides & Tutorials

Search

Learn the basics of searching in this handy tutorial.


Advanced Search

Find out about the advanced search functionality of the Emerald research platform.

Loading ...

Videos

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Get a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Gain a thorough grounding in therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with clients.

Links Beyond SUSS

Loading ...

Citation Help