Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Introduction

Introduction

About This Guide

Welcome to our Biomedical Engineering Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of resources available on Biomedical Engineering at SUSS Library.

Here are some examples of keywords and phrases that can be used when searching for biomedical engineering resources in SUSS Library.

artificial intelligence in biomedicine
biomechanics
biomedical instrumentation
biomedical opticals
biomedical sensing
biotechnology
medical device design
medical simulation
molecular imaging
neuroengineering

Spotlight on eBooks

Advances in Medicine and Biology Vol. 98

Selected Topics in Biomedical Circuits and Systems

Artificial Intelligence in Digital Holographic Imaging

Internet of Things in Biomedical Engineering

Advanced Healthcare Systems

Bioinformatics and Medical Applications

Books

Guide to Research Projects for Engineering Students by Eng-Choon Leong
ISBN: 9781482238778
Publication Date: 2015-07-23
Presents an Integrated Approach, Providing Clear and Practical Guidelines
Biomaterials Science: an Introduction to Materials in Medicine by Buddy D. Ratner; Allan S. Hoffman; Frederick J. Schoen; Jack E. Lemons
ISBN: 1283852241
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The revised edition of this renowned and bestselling title is the most comprehensive single text on all aspects of biomaterials science.
The Engineering Language by Ronald Hanifan
ISBN: 9781606502082
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Unlike other engineering dictionaries that tend to focus only on narrow and arcane technical words, this dictionary explains the major, commonly used words found in engineering documents and drawings, and explains them in plain, unambiguous English.
Microfluidic Devices for Biomedical Applications by XiuJun (James) Li (Editor); Yu Zhou (Editor)
ISBN: 9780857097040
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Microfluidics or lab-on-a-chip (LOC) is an important technology suitable for numerous applications from drug delivery to tissue engineering. Microfluidic devices for biomedical applications discusses the fundamentals of microfluidics and explores in detail a wide range of medical applications.
Medical Instruments and Devices by Steven Schreiner (Editor); Joseph D. Bronzino (Editor); Donald R. Peterson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781439871454
Publication Date: 2015-07-24
The book chronicles the evolution of pacemakers and their system operation and discusses oscillometry, cardiac output measurement, and the direct and indirect methods of measuring cardiac output.
Design of Biomedical Devices and Systems, Third Edition by Paul H. King; Richard C. Fries; Arthur T. Johnson
ISBN: 9781466569133
Publication Date: 2014-07-29
Apply a Wide Variety of Design Processes to a Wide Category of Design Problems Design of Biomedical Devices and Systems, Third Editioncontinues to provide a real-world approach to the design of biomedical engineering devices and/or systems. Bringing together information on the design and initiation of design projects from several sources, this edition strongly emphasizes and further clarifies the standards of design procedure.
Intelligent Systems and Technologies in Rehabilitation Engineering by Andrea Tura
ISBN: 9780849301407
Publication Date: 2000-12-26
In the first truly comprehensive book addressing intelligent technologies for the disabled, top experts from around the world provide an overview of this dynamic, rapidly evolving field. They present state-of-the-art information on the latest, innovative technologies and their applications in various systems designed to better the lives of the disabled.

Click here to search SUSS Library for more resources

Journals

Search eJournals in BrowZine

Biomedical Engineering Journals in BrowZine

Suggested Journals

The selected eJournals listed below are subscribed by SUSS Library.

Go to the Journals section of SUSS Library to search for more eJournals.

Open Access Journal

The following eJournal is made freely available online by the publisher Elsevier.

Informatics in Medicine Unlocked

To learn more about open access resources, please refer to Open Access Libguide.

Databases

Click on the title to access the resource

This list of databases is indicative only. Please click on the title to access the resource.

For the complete list of databases, go to Databases.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
IEEE Xplore IEL This link opens in a new window
Note: Access to IEEE is available only to students from (SST) School of Science and Technology .

Access approximately 5 million full-text documents - more than 1 million articles from 195 IEEE journals and magazines and over 3.6 million conference papers from as far back as 1936. Get the latest research in a wide range of technologies including Aerospace and Defense, Biometrics, Cyber Security, Electronics, Nanotechnology, Robotics, Semiconductors, Smart Grid, Telecommunications, and Wireless Technology.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly for Higher Education (previously known as Safari Technical Books) is a training and learning platform on information technology and business. It contains more than 35,000 ebooks, 2,000 videos, 4,600 courses, learning paths, playlists, and case studies on emerging trends such as artificial intelligence, big data, financial technology (FinTech), and gaming. Participating publishers include Addison-Wesley Professional, IBM Redbooks, McGraw-Hill, Microsoft Press, O'Reilly Media, and Packt Publishing.

Please refer to the FAQ on the access method.
You can also refer to the user guide for details.
OECD iLibrary: Science and Technology This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary (previously SourceOECD) is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. OECD Science and Technology iLibrary includes over 650 ebooks, 4,480 chapters, 740 papers, and 9,450 tables/graphs.

OECD is a pioneer in promoting a better understanding of what science and technology can and could do, as well as the factors shaping how research is carried out and used. OECD works with countries to obtain internationally comparable data and provide them with information on the scientific, technological and industrial environment and its relation to general economic goals such as growth and employment as a basis for examining the effectiveness of National Policies.
Emerald Insight: Engineering eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Access 26 aerospace, automotive, industrial and manufacturing journals. Key titles include: Engineering Computations, Circuit World, Rapid Prototyping Journal, Industrial Robot. Title List
eBooks (EBSCO)
EBSCO Academic Collection
EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO Open Access eBook Collection

Access our main collection of electronic books (EBSCO eBook Collection) as well as 210,000 ebooks from EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection and eBook Open Access Collection covering Business and Economics, Digital Marketing, Education, Film Studies, Language Arts and Disciplines, Literary Criticism, Political Science, Psychotherapy, Social Science, and Technology and Engineering.

EBSCO has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access the collection of Taylor and Francis ebooks covering social sciences, humanities and engineering & Technology.

Taylor & Francis has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here

Links Beyond SUSS

NLB Resources

NLB eResources

Below are some great resources from NLB that could be helpful for you.

Proquest Ebook Central (formerly known as eBrary books)
ProQuest engineering database
EBSCOhost STM source

ProQuest biological science database
ProQuest consumer health database
ProQuest healthcare administration database

Websites

Note:

1. Please bookmark the url in your browser as a quick link.

2. These free resources are not SUSS Library's subscriptions. Please direct your enquiries to the respective institutions if you require clarification on the use of their resources.

(Last updated: 28 Aug 2023)