Research Guides: Shakespeare: Journals

About this guide

Welcome to our Shakespeare Research Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at SUSS Library and beyond for researchers in Shakespeare. Use the tabs on the left to find articles, books, background information and more.

Here are some examples of keywords and phrases which can be used when searching for Shakespeare resources in SUSS Library

Shakespeare
Shakespeare plays
Shakespeare sonnets
Shakespeare interpretations
understanding Shakespeare
modern Shakespeare
teaching Shakespeare
Shakespeare and films
Shakespeare and history
Shakespeare and language
Shakespeare and characters
Shakespeare and society
renaissance and Shakespeare
renaissance literature
renaissance studies and literature
English literature and Shakespeare

Books

Journals

Suggested Journals

Go to the Journals section of SUSS Library to search for other journals.

Databases

Suggested Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Cambridge Core: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) journal collection contains 272 journals covering a wide range of subjects such as area studies, classics, economics, history, language and linguistics, law, literature, philosophy, politics and international relations, psychology, religious studies and social studies.

Includes:
Ageing and Society
American Political Science Review
English Today
Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Political Science Research and Methods
eBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Access our main collection of electronic books (EBSCO eBook Collection) as well as 210,000 ebooks from EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection and eBook Open Access Collection covering Business and Economics, Digital Marketing, Education, Film Studies, Language Arts and Disciplines, Literary Criticism, Political Science, Psychotherapy, Social Science, and Technology and Engineering.

EBSCO has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, books and primary sources in 60 disciplines covering humanities, social sciences, and sciences across all 15 Arts & Sciences collections. JSTOR's coverage begins with the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Title Lists.
JSTOR's guides include: How To Use JSTOR (for students) and How To Search JSTOR.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to documentaries, classics and independent films. Notable content includes The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation and 297 videos from Psychotherapy.net. The subscription covers 63 packages such as Anthropology, Business Case Studies, Computer Science & Technology, Education Documentary, Engineering, Film Studies, Law & Criminal Justice, Mental Health, Movies, Political Science, Psychology and World Cinema.
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Literature Online (LION) includes access to over 355,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

ProQuest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here.
Project MUSE: Humanities Collection; Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Access 330 journals from leading universities and scholarly societies covering such areas as literature, area and ethnic studies, religion, philosophy, political science, history, film and media studies, music, education, economics, and medicine and health. Project MUSE also offers 5 Open Access journals and over 4,000 Open Access books. Title List
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Access 1,100 social sciences and humanities journals from SAGE Premier, including titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.

Title List
Includes:
American Educational Research Journal
Body & Society
Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood
The Counseling Psychologist
Cultural Sociology
Culture & Psychology
Current Sociology
Educational and Psychological Measurement
Families in Society
The Family Journal
Gender & Society
Group & Organization Management
Group Processes & Intergroup Relations
Journal of Career Development
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
Journal of Consumer Culture
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology
Journal of Early Childhood Research
Journal of Family Issues
Journal of Health Psychology
Journal of Psychoeducational Assessment
Journal of Management
Journal of Social Work
Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin
Psychological Science
RELC Journal
Social Compass
Sociology
Theory, Culture & Society
Urban Studies
Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
The Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities (SSH) Library provides access to over 1,450 journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines, including: arts and humanities; business management and economics; criminology and law; education; geography, planning, urban and environment; media, cultural and communication studies; mental health and social care; politics, international relations and area studies; psychology; sociology; sports, leisure and tourism; and strategic defence and security studies. Title List
Includes:
Asian Journal of Communication
Classroom Discourse
Journal of Positive Psychology
The Translator

In addition, these have also been subscribed:
Asia Pacific Journal of Counselling and Psychotherapy
Asia Pacific Journal of Social Work and Development
Higher Education Research and Development
Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Technology, Pedagogy and Education
Wiley Online Library: Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Journals This link opens in a new window
Explore 511 journals available in Wiley Social Sciences and Humanities collections. Subjects covered are Anthropology, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Classical Studies, Communication & Media Studies, Computer Science & Information Technology, Chemistry, Criminology, Earth, Space & Environmental Science, Economics, Film Studies, Finance & Accounting, Geography, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics & Statistics, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion & Theology, Social & Behavioral Sciences, and Sociology.
The collection provides access to content covering the period from 1997 to date.

For the complete list of databases, go to Databases A-Z

NLB eResources

For additional databases, go to NLB eResources

Videos

Online videos on Shakespeare

University of Warwick - Understanding Shakespeare's Sonnets

Ted-Ed Why Shakespeare loved iambic pentameter (David T Freeman and Gregory Taylor)

Folger Shakespeare Library - 'Shakespeare's Virtues; with Professor Julia Reinhard Lupton

Links beyond SUSS

Online Shakespeare Resources

Shakespeare

About this guide

About this guide

Welcome to our Shakespeare Research Guide

Books

Spotlight on eBooks

The new Cambridge companion to Shakespeare

Shakespeare up Close: Reading Early Modern Texts

Shakespeare's Sonnets

Critical survey of Shakespeare's Sonnets

Shakespeare and the classics

The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare and Popular Culture

Shakespeare and Language

Shakespeare and the language of translation

Think on my Words: Exploring Shakespeare's Language

Doing Shakespeare

Journals

Suggested Journals

Databases

Suggested Databases

Videos

Online videos on Shakespeare

Links beyond SUSS

Links beyond SUSS