Research Guides: Film Studies: Additonal Resouces

About This Guide

Welcome to our Film Studies Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of resources available on Film Studies at SUSS Library.

Spotlight

What's New !

New !

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to independent and documentary films. Notable content includes The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation and 297 videos from Psychotherapy.net. The subscription covers 63 packages such as Anthropology, Business Case Studies, Computer Science & Technology, Education Documentary, Engineering, Film Studies, Law & Criminal Justice, Mental Health, Movies, Political Science, Psychology and World Cinema.

Search in Browzine

A guide to Browzine

Film Analysis and Film Genre

The Cinema Book
ISBN: 9781838710484
Publication Date: 2007-11-05
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM 103, FLM 201

Published by the British Film Institute (BFI), The Cinema Book has been extensively revised, updated, and expanded in response to developments in cinema and cinema studies. Illustrated in colour and with a wealth of case studies.
Cinema of the Dark Side by Shohini Chaudhuri
ISBN: 9780748694617
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Suggested reading for FLM201, FLM103

This book explores how contemporary cinema treats state-sponsored atrocity, evoking multiple landscapes of state terror. It investigates the ethical potential of cinematic atrocity images. Asserting a crucial distinction between morality and ethics, it proposes a new conceptualisation of human rights cinema that repositions human rights morality within an ethical framework that reflects upon the causes and contexts of violence. It builds upon theories of embodied spectatorship to explore how films can implicate us in histories that may appear to be distant and unrelated to us, and how they draw connections between past and present patterns of oppression.
Cinema Studies by Susan Hayward
ISBN: 9781138665767
Publication Date: 2018-08-16
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts is essential reading for anyone interested in film. Providing accessible coverage of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories and production terms, this is a must-have guide to a fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times. Now fully revised and updated for its fifth edition, the book includes entries on topics such as: Acting Audience CGI Convergence Cult cinema Digitisation and globalization Distribution Experimental film Transnational cinema World cinemas
Film genre : Hollywood and beyond by Barry Langford
ISBN: 9780748619030
Publication Date: 2005-05-27
Suggested reading for FLM201

This book provides a detailed account of genre history and contemporary trends in the film genre, alongside the critical debates they have provoked. The book ranges widely across the field, dealing separately and in detail with classic genres e.g. the Western, the musical, the war film, the gangster film, and film noir – to more recent trends such as body-horror, Holocaust films, and action blockbusters. It shows how notions of genre help shape the ways that filmmakers, critics, and audiences view films and how the often complex scholarly debates around genre reflect important differences in the ways cinema is understood in relation to its social and historical contexts.
Film Genre Reader IV by Barry Keith Grant (Editor)
ISBN: 9780292742062
Publication Date: 2012-12-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Film Genre Reader has been the standard reference and classroom text for the study of genre in film. This fourth edition adds new essays on genre definition and cycles, action movies, science fiction, and heritage films, along with a comprehensive and updated bibliography.
The Filmmaker's Eye - The Language of the Lens by Gustavo Mercado
ISBN: 9780415821315
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201

This book describes how lenses can produce aesthetically and narratively compelling images in movies, through a close examination of the various ways lens techniques control the look of space, movement, focus, flares, distortion, and the "optical personality" of your story's visual landscape. It provides filmmakers, at any level or experience, with a wealth of knowledge to unleash the full expressive power of any lens at their disposal, whether they are shooting with state-of-the-art cinema lenses or a smartphone, and everything in between.
Genre Filmmaking by Danny Draven
ISBN: 9780240824215
Publication Date: 2013-04-24
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Learn how to execute the visual style of your genre in this highly illustrative, inspirational guide to shots and sequences for genre films. Jam-packed with full-color examples from the movies you love. Learn, for example, how to play with the emotions and expectations of your audience by using camera techniques such as dolly zooms and ghost reveals.
Hitchcock's Motifs by Michael Walker
ISBN: 9781280958168
Publication Date: 2010-01-10
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201, FLM103

Combing through all fifty-two extant feature films and representative episodes from Hitchcock’s television series, Walker traces over forty motifs that emerge in recurring objects, settings, character types, and events. Whether the loaded meaning of staircases, the symbolic status of keys and handbags, homoeroticism, guilt, and confession, or the role of art, Walker analyses such elements to reveal a complex web of cross-references in Hitchcock’s art. He gives full attention to the broader social contexts in which the motifs and themes are played out, arguing that these interwoven elements add new depths to Hitchcock’s oeuvre.
Master Shots, Vol. 3 by Christopher Kenworthy
ISBN: 9781615931545
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201

A highly visual exploration of the best shots, moves, and set-ups in the industry. This books reveals the secrets behind each shot's success, so it can be adapted to the director's individual scenes.
Maximum Movies - Pulp Fictions by Peter Stanfield
ISBN: 9780813551036
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

In the words of Richard Maltby . . . "Maximum Movies--Pulp Fictions describes two improbably imbricated worlds and the piece of cultural history their intersections provoked." One of these worlds comprises a clutch of noisy, garish pulp movies--Kiss Me Deadly, Shock Corridor, Fixed Bayonets!, I Walked with a Zombie, The Lineup, Terror in a Texas Town, Ride Lonesome. The other is occupied by critics, intellectuals, cinephiles, and filmmakers such as Jean-Luc Godard, Manny Farber, and Lawrence Alloway.
More than night : film noir in its contexts by James Naremore
ISBN: 9780520254022
Publication Date: 2008-01-14
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

"Film noir" evokes memories of stylish, cynical, black-and-white movies from the 40s and 50s, melodramas about private eyes, femmes fatales, criminal gangs, and lovers on the run. James Naremore's prize-winning book discusses these pictures, but also shows that the central term is more complex and paradoxical than we realise. It treats noir as a term in criticism, as an expression of artistic modernism, as a symptom of Hollywood censorship and politics, as a market strategy, as an evolving style, and as an idea that circulates through all the media.
Notes on the Cinematograph by Robert Bresson
ISBN: 9781681370248
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201

The French film director Robert Bresson was one of the great artists of the twentieth century and among the most radical, original, and radiant stylists of any time. Notes on the Cinematograph distills the essence of Bresson's theory and practice as a filmmaker and artist. He discusses the fundamental differences between theater and film; parses the deep grammar of silence, music, and noise; and affirms the mysterious power of the image to unlock the human soul.
Puzzle films : complex storytelling in contemporary cinema by Warren Buckland (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405168625
Publication Date: 2009-01-12
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM103

Drawing upon the expertise of film scholars from around the world, Puzzle Films investigates a number of films that sport complex storytelling--from Memento, Old Boy, Run Lola Run, to The Infernal Affairs Trilogy and In the Mood for Love. It also draws upon the expertise of film scholars from North America, Britain, China, Poland, Holland, Italy, Greece, New Zealand, and Australia.
A Short Guide to Writing about Film by Timothy Corrigan
ISBN: 9781292078113
Publication Date: 2014-07-13
Physical Book
This is the textbook for FLM103

With numerous student and professional examples, this engaging and practical guide progresses from taking notes and writing first drafts to creating polished essays and comprehensive research projects. Moving from movie reviews to theoretical and critical essays, the text demonstrates how an analysis of a film can become more subtle and rigorous as part of a compositional process.
Studying Contemporary American Film by Thomas Elsaesser; Warren Buckland
ISBN: 9780340762066
Publication Date: 2002-04-18
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103

What are the most appropriate theories and methods for analysing contemporary American cinema? This book answers this question by taking an innovative approach to writing about individual movies: in each of the main chapters, the authors examine the assumptions behind one traditional theory of film (e.g. auteurism, narratology, psychoanalysis), distill a method of analysis from it, and then analyse a contemporary American movie. They then go beyond the traditional theory by analysing the same movie using a more current theory and method (e.g. new media theory, deconstruction, cognitivism).
Transmedia Marketing by Anne Zeiser
ISBN: 9780415716116
Publication Date: 2015-06-24
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201, FLM353

Transmedia Marketing covers the fundamentals of a sound 21st-century marketing and content plan. You'll master the strategy behind conducting research, identifying target audiences, setting goals, and branding your project. And, you'll learn first-hand how to execute your plan's publicity, events, advertising, trailers, digital and interactive content, and social media. Transmedia Marketing enlivens these concepts with hundreds of vibrant examples from across media platforms.
The Cambridge Companion to Literature on Screen by Deborah Cartmell (Editor); Imelda Whelehan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781139797962
Publication Date: 2012-10-31
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

The Cambridge Companion to Literature on Screen offers a multi-disciplinary approach to literature on film and television. Writers are drawn from different backgrounds to consider broad topics, such as the issue of adaptation from novels and plays to the screen, canonical and popular literature, fantasy, genre, and adaptations for children. There are also case studies, such as Shakespeare, Jane Austen, the nineteenth-century novel, and modernism, which allow the reader to place adaptations of the work of writers within a wider context.
A Companion to Contemporary French Cinema by Alistair Fox (Editor); Michel Marie (Editor); Raphaëlle Moine (Editor); Hilary Radner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118585368
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Ebook

A collection of original essays addressing all aspects of French cinema from 1990 to the present day. Features original contributions from top film scholars relating to all aspects of contemporary French cinema. Includes new research on matters relating to the political economy of contemporary French cinema, developments in cinema policy, audience attendance, and the types, building, and renovation of theaters. Contains an unusually large range of methodological approaches and perspectives, including those of genre, gender, auteur, industry, economic, star, postcolonial and psychoanalytic studies. Includes essays by French cinema scholars.
Sound by Kathryn Kalinak
ISBN: 9780813564289
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103, FLM201, FLM362

This book introduces key concepts, seminal moments, and pivotal figures in the development of cinematic sound. Each of the book's six chapters covers a different era in the history of Hollywood, from silent films to the digital age, and is written by an expert in that period. Together, the book's contributors are able to explore a remarkable range of past and present film industry practices, from the hiring of elocution coaches to the marketing of soundtrack records.
Silent Film Sound by Rick Altman
ISBN: 9780231116633
Publication Date: 2007-02-27
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103, FLM201,

The book considers all aspects of sound practices during the entire silent film period. Based on extensive original research and accompanied by gorgeous illustrations, the book challenges the assumptions of earlier histories of this period in film and reveals the complexity and swiftly changing nature of American silent cinema. Rick Altman discusses the variety of sound strategies and the way early cinema exhibitors used these strategies to differentiate their products.. He details the ways in which these diverse interests and industries come together to produce extraordinarily successful audio-visual art.
Science Fiction Double Feature by J. P. Telotte (Editor); Gerald Duchovnay (Editor)
ISBN: 1781381836
Publication Date: 2015-07-27
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Reality and fantasy - science fiction has played a key role in such cinematic cult formation. This book examines that largely unexplored relationship, looking at how the film's own double nature neatly matches up with a persistent double vision common to the cult film. It does so by bringing together an international array of scholars to address key questions about the intersections of science fiction and cult cinema: how different genre elements, directors, and stars contribute to cult formation; what role fan activities, including "con" participation, play in cult development; and how the occulted or "bad" cult film works.
Shakespeare Remains by Courtney Lehmann
ISBN: 1501727591
Publication Date: 2018-08-06
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

An alternative to literary models that either minimise or exalt the writer's creative role, film theory, in Lehmann's view, perceives authorship as a site of constitutive conflict, generating in the process the notion of the auteur. By projecting film theory from the postmodern to the early modern and back again, Lehmann demonstrates the ways in which Shakespeare emerges as a special effect--indeed, as an auteur--in two cultures wherein authors fear to tread.
Cinematic Overtures by Annette Insdorf
ISBN: 0231544065
Publication Date: 2018-07-31
Ebook
Suggested reading FLM101, FLM103, FLM 201

A great movie's first few minutes provide the key to the rest of the film. In Cinematic Overtures, Annette Insdorf discusses the opening sequence, inviting viewers to turn first impressions into deeper understanding of cinematic technique. She offers a series of revelatory readings of individual films by some of cinema's leading directors.
Contemporary Action Cinema by Lisa Purse
ISBN: 9780748646128
Publication Date: 2011-04-25
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Action cinema is a popular and familiar form that reflects the cultural, industrial, and historical landscape from which it emerges. Lisa Purse analyses the genre's pleasures and complexities in the light of both its cinematic history and the latest critical debates. Focussing on action cinema of the 2000s, this book explores issues of visual style, narrative, representation, and the various contexts of production through a diverse series of case studies including Avatar (2009), Casino Royale (2006), The Hurt Locker (2008) and Banlieue 13 (2004) .
Euro Horror by Ian Olney
ISBN: 9780253006585
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Beginning in the 1950s, "Euro Horror" movies materialized in astonishing numbers from Italy, Spain, and France and popped up in the US. Gorier, sexier, and stranger than most American horror films of the time, they were embraced by hardcore fans and denounced by critics as the worst kind of cinematic trash. In this volume, Olney explores some of the most popular genres of Euro Horror cinema--including Giallo films, named for the yellow covers of Italian pulp fiction, the S&M horror film, and cannibal and zombie films--and develops a theory that explains their renewed appeal to audiences today.
From Mouse to Mermaid by Elizabeth Bell (Editor); Lynda Haas (Editor); Laura Sells (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253116161
Publication Date: 1995-11-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM251, FLM103

From Mouse to Mermaid is an interdisciplinary collection of original essays. The book contemplates Disney's duality as an American icon and as an industry of cultural production, created in and through fifty years of filmmaking. The contributors treat a range of topics at issue in contemporary cultural studies: the performance of gender, race, and class; the engendered images of science, nature, technology, family, and business. The compilation of voices in From Mouse to Mermaid creates a persuasive cultural critique of Disney's ideology.
International Noir by Homer B. Pettey (Editor); R. Barton Palmer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781474413084
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Ranging from Japanese silent films and women's films to French, Hong Kong, and Nordic New Waves, this book explores the influence of noir on international cinematic traditions and challenges prevailing film scholarship. It includes extensive bibliography and filmographies for recommended reading and viewing.
Screening the Stage by Steven Neale
ISBN: 0861969294
Publication Date: 2017-10-05
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Screening the Stage consists of a series of chapter-length studies of feature-length films, the plays and musicals on which they were based, and their remakes where pertinent. Founded on awareness of evolving technologies and industrial practices rather than the tenets of adaptation theory, particular attention is paid to the evolving practices of Hollywood as well as to the purport and structure of the plays and stage musicals on which the film versions were based. Each play or musical is contextualised and summarised in detail, and each film is analysed so as to pinpoint the ways in which they articulate, modify, or rework the former.
Silent Film Sound by Rick Altman
ISBN: 9780231116633
Publication Date: 2007-02-27
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103, FLM201

Silent Film Sound reconsiders all aspects of sound practices during the entire silent film period. Based on extensive original research and accompanied by gorgeous illustrations, the book challenges the assumptions of earlier histories of this period in film and reveals the complexity and swiftly changing nature of American silent cinema. Rick Altman discusses the variety of sound strategies and the way early cinema exhibitors used these strategies to differentiate their products. Silent Film Sound details the ways in which these diverse interests and industries come together to produce extraordinarily successful audio-visual art.
Talkies, Road Movies and Chick Flicks by Heidi Wilkins
ISBN: 9781474406895
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103, FLM201

Offers a detailed and innovative discussion of film sound and gender in mainstream US cinema. The representation of gender in the film remains an intensely debated topic, particularly in academic considerations of US mainstream cinema where it is often perceived as perpetuating rigid, binary views of gender, and reinforcing patriarchal, dominant notions of masculinity and femininity. While the previous scholarly discussion has focused on visual or narrative portrayals of gender, this book considers the ways that film sound - music, voice, sound effects, and silence - is used to represent gender.
The Social Cinema of Jean Renoir by Christopher Faulkner
ISBN: 1400854733
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Ebook
Suggested reading for Film Theory

Reinterpreting twelve of Renoir's best-known works, Professor Faulkner attributes their qualities not to the director's unified sensibility but to varying social and historical circumstances.
Christopher Nolan : filmmaker and philosopher by Robbie B. H. Goh
ISBN: 9781350140004
Publication Date: 26-11-2021
Ebook

Christopher Nolan is the writer and director of Hollywood blockbusters like The
Silent Film Sound and The Dark Knight Rises and also of arthouse films like Memento and Inception. Underlying his staggering commercial success however, is a darker sensibility that questions the veracity of human knowledge, the allure of appearance over reality and the latent disorder in contemporary society. Taking a thematic approach to Nolan’s oeuvre, Robbie Goh examines how the director’s postmodern inclinations manifest themselves in non-linearity, causal agnosticism, the threat of social anarchy and the frequent use of the mise en abyme, while running counter to these are narratives of heroism, moral responsibility and the dignity of human choice. For Goh, Nolan is a ‘reluctant postmodernist’. His films reflect the cynicism of the modern world, but with their representation of heroic moral triumphs, they also resist it.
The Star System by Paul McDonald
ISBN: 9781903364024
Publication Date: 2001-06-13
Ebook

Looks at the development and changing organization of the star system in the American film industry. Tracing the popularity of star performers from the early "cinema of attractions" to the Internet universe, Paul McDonald explores the ways in which Hollywood has made and sold its stars. Through focusing on particular historical periods, case studies of Mary Pickford, Bette Davis, James Cagney, Julia Roberts, Tom Cruise, and Will Smith illustrate the key conditions influencing the star system in silent cinema, the studio era and the New Hollywood.

Gender and Film Noir

Feminisms by Anna Backman Rogers (Editor); Laura Mulvey (Editor)
ISBN: 9781350139985
Publication Date: 2021-11-04
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM103

This collection brings together an exciting group of established and emerging scholars to consider the history of feminist film theory and new developments in the field and in film culture itself. Opening the field up to urgent questions and covering such topics as new experimental film, the digital image, consumerism, activism, and pornography, Feminisms will be essential reading for scholars of both film and feminism.
Feminist Film Theory by Sue Thornham (Editor)
ISBN: 9780814782446
Publication Date: 1999-04-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM103, FLM201

Feminist Film Theory maps the impact of major theoretical developments on this growing field-from structuralism and psychoanalysis in the 1970s, to post-colonial theory, queer theory, and postmodernism in the 1990s covering a wide range of topics, including oppressive images, "woman" as a fetishized object of desire, female spectatorship, and the cinematic pleasures of black women and lesbian women. Contributors include Judith Butler, Carol J. Clover, Barbara Creed, Michelle Citron, Mary Ann Doane, Teresa De Lauretis, Jane Gaines, Christine Gledhill, Molly Haskell, bell hooks, Claire Johnston, Annette Kuhn, and Julia Lesage.
Gender and Media by Tonny Krijnen; Sofie Van Bauwel
ISBN: 9780415695404
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM201

Gender and Media offers a critical overview of the contemporary debates and discussions surrounding gender and mediated communication and provides students with an overview of the current academic research. The first chapter of each section attempts to answer the most basic questions: 'Who is represented?', 'Who produces what?' and 'Who consumes what?'. The second chapter; draws attention to the complexity of the relationship between gender and media, concentrating on the "Why." The third addresses the latest debates in the fields of media and gender, adding a vital layer of understanding of the topic at hand.
In a Lonely Street by Frank Krutnik
ISBN: 041502630X
Publication Date: 1991-08-22
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM201

Taking issue with many orthodox views of Film Noir, Frank Krutnik argues for a reorientation of this compulsively engaging area of Hollywood cultural production. This book covers the concerns of the complex representation of masculinity in the noir tough' thriller, and where and how gender interlocks with questions of genre. Analysing in detail, major thrillers like The Maltese Falcon, Double Indemnity, Out of the Past, and The Killers, alongside lesser-known films as Stranger on the Third Floor, Pitfall, and Dead Reckoning; Krutnik has produced a provocative and highly readable study of one of Hollywood's perennially fascinating group of films.
More Than Night by James Naremore
ISBN: 9780520254022
Publication Date: 2008-01-14
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

"Film noir" evokes memories of stylish, cynical, black-and-white movies from the 40s and 50s, melodramas about private eyes, femmes fatales, criminal gangs, and lovers on the run. James Naremore's prize-winning book discusses these pictures, but also shows that the central term is more complex and paradoxical than we realise. It treats noir as a term in criticism, as an expression of artistic modernism, as a symptom of Hollywood censorship and politics, as a market strategy, as an evolving style, and as an idea that circulates through all the media.
The Philosophy of Film Noir by Mark T. Conard
ISBN: 9780813191812
Publication Date: 2005-01-27
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Drawing on the work of Albert Camus to Max Horkheimer and Theodor Adorno, this book connects film noir to the philosophical questions of a modern, often nihilistic world. Opening with an examination of what constitutes noir cinema, the book interprets the philosophical elements consistently present in the films -- themes such as moral ambiguity, reason versus passion, and pessimism. The contributors to the volume also argue that the essence and elements of noir have fundamentally influenced movies outside of the traditional noir period. The Philosophy of Film Noir reinvigorates an intellectual discussion at the intersection of popular culture and philosophy.
The Philosophy of Neo-Noir by Mark T. Conard (Editor)
Call Number: not found
ISBN: 9780813137179
Publication Date: 2007-01-05
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Film noir is a classic genre characterised by visual elements such as tilted camera angles, skewed scene compositions, and an interplay between darkness and light. The essays collected in The Philosophy of Neo-Noir explore the philosophical implications of neo-noir touchstones such as Blade Runner, Chinatown, Reservoir Dogs, Memento, and the films of the Coen brothers. Through the lens of philosophy, Mark T. Conard and the contributors examine previously obscure layers of meaning in these challenging films.
Women in Film Noir by E. Ann Kaplan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780851706665
Publication Date: 1998-10-27
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

The first edition of Women in Film Noir (1978) assembled a group of scholars and critics committed to understanding the cinema in terms of gender, sexuality, politics, psychoanalysis and semiotics. This edition is expanded to include further essays which reflect the renewed interest in Film Noir. Exploring "neo-noir", postmodernism and other contemporary trends, new essays offer readings of, among others, "Bound" and "Basic Instinct", broadening the scope of the book to include questions of race and homosexuality.
Film Noir and the Cinema of Paranoia by Wheeler Winston Dixon
ISBN: 9780748630318
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Film Noir and the Cinema of Paranoia is an overview of 20th- and 21st-century noir and fatalist film practice from 1945 onwards. The book demonstrates the ways in which American cinema has inculcated a climate of fear in our daily lives. It begins with the return of American soldiers from World War II, 'liberated' from the war in the Pacific by the newly created atomic bomb, which will come to rule American consciousness through much of the 1950s and 1960s and then, in a newer, more small-scale way, become a fixture of terrorist hardware in the post-paranoid ear of the 21st century.
Girls Will Be Boys by Laura Horak
ISBN: 9780813574851
Publication Date: 2016-02-26
Ebook

Girls Will Be Boys excavates a rich history of gender-bending film roles, enabling readers to appreciate the wide array of masculinities that these actresses performed--from sentimental boyhood to rugged virility to gentlemanly refinement. Taking us on a guided tour through a treasure-trove of vintage images, Girls Will Be Boys helps us view the histories of gender, sexuality, and film through fresh eyes.
Kiss the Blood off My Hands by Robert Miklitsch (Editor)
ISBN: 0252080181
Publication Date: 2014-09-08
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201

Robert Miklitsch curates a bold collection of essays that reassesses the genre's iconic style, history, and themes. Contributors analyse the oft-overlooked female detective and little-examined aspects of filmmaking like love songs and radio aesthetics, discuss the significance of the producer and women's pulp fiction, as well as investigate Disney noir and the Fifties heist film, B-movie back projection, and blacklisted British directors. At the same time, the writers' collective reconsideration unwinds the impact of hot-button topics like race and gender, history and sexuality, technology, and transnationality.

Animated Film

Animation : from concept to production by Hannes Rall
ISBN: 9781138041196
Publication Date: 2018
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM251

This book explains the creation of animation from concept to production. Instead of focusing on singular aspects of animation production, talented animators can learn to make better films by understanding the process as a whole. Hannes Rall teaches you how to develop an animation project from the very start of conceptual exploration through to completed production. Subjects like the script, storyboarding, character and production design illuminate the pre-production process; later chapters explain the production process applied to different animation techniques like 2D animation, 3D computer animation, and stop motion.
Anime impact : the movies and shows that changed the world of Japanese animation by Chris Stuckmann; Ernest Cline (Contribution by); Alicia Malone (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781633537323
Publication Date: 2018-04-15
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM251

Anime Impact explores the impression the medium has left on various fans with detailed discussions on television shows and movies from the 1960s all the way to the present. You'll hear from YouTube film critic Chris Stuckmann and many others. Learn how anime has impacted culture from authors, artists, critics, anime enthusiasts, and super fans such as John Rodriguez, Alicia Malone, Emma Fyffe, and many more. You will learn about the impact of Anime classics such as Gundam, Akira, Sailor Moon, Spirited Away, and other Studio Ghibli films.
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration by Edwin Catmull
ISBN: 9780553841220
Publication Date: 2018-06-26
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM251

In this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques, honed over years, that have made Pixar so widely admired -- and so profitable. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation Studios -- into the story meetings, the postmortems, and the 'Braintrust' sessions where art is born.
Reading the rabbit : explorations in Warner Bros. animation by Kevin S. Sandler
ISBN: 9780813525372
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM251

This collection of essays looks at the history of Warner Bros. animation, compares and contrasts the two studios, charts the rise and fall of creativity and daring at Warner's, and analyses the ways in which the studio was for a time transgressive in its treatment of class, race, and gender. It reveals how safety and commercialisation have, in the end, triumphed at Warner Bros. just as they much earlier conquered Disney. The book also discusses fan parodies of Warner Bros. animation on the Internet today, the Bugs Bunny cross-dressing cartoons, cartoons that were censored by the studio, and the merchandising and licensing strategies of the Warner Bros. studio stores.
The Ride of a Lifetime: Lessons Learned From 15 Years As CEO of the Walt Disney Company by Robert Iger
ISBN: 9780593170984
Publication Date: 2019-10-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM251

This book is about thoughtfulness and respect, and a decency-over-dollars approach that has become the bedrock of every project and partnership Iger pursues, from a deep friendship with Steve Jobs in his final years to an abiding love of the Star Wars mythology.
The World History of Animation by Stephen Cavalier; Sylvain Chomet (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9780520261129
Publication Date: 2011-09-09
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM251

The World History of Animation tells the genre's 100-year-old story around the globe, featuring key players in Europe, North America, and Asia. The book explains the evolution of animation techniques, from rotoscoping to refinements of cell techniques, direct film, Claymation, and more. A true global survey, The World History of Animation is an exciting and inspirational journey through the large and still-expanding animation universe--a place as limitless as the human imagination.

Streaming, Netflix

Theorizing Digital Cultures by Grant David Bollmer
ISBN: 9781473966932
Publication Date: 2018-10-25
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM353

This book explains how digital media--in providing the material and infrastructure for a host of practices and interactions--affect identities, bodies, social relations, artistic practices, and the environment. Theorizing Digital Cultures shows students the importance of theory for understanding digital cultures and presents key theories in an easy-to-understand way. The book also explores the power relations between individuals and groups that are produced by digital technologies, enhances understanding through applied examples, including YouTube personalities, Facebook's 'like' button, and holographic performers.
Netflix Nations : The Geography of Digital Distribution by Ramon Lobato
ISBN: 9781479804948
Publication Date: 2019-01-08
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM353

Netflix Nations considers the ways that subscription video-on-demand services, but most of all Netflix, have irrevocably changed the circulation of media content. It tells the story of how a global video portal interacts with national audiences, markets, and institutions, and what this means for how we understand global media in the Internet age. Netflix Nations addresses a fundamental tension in the digital media landscape - the clash between the Internet's capacity for global distribution and the territorial nature of media trade, taste, and regulation. It also explores the failures and frictions of video-on-demand as experienced by audiences.
Transmedia Marketing by Anne Zeiser
ISBN: 9780415716116
Publication Date: 2015-06-24
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201, FLM353

Transmedia Marketing covers the fundamentals of a sound 21st-century marketing and content plan. You'll master the strategy behind conducting research, identifying target audiences, setting goals, and branding your project. And, you'll learn first-hand how to execute your plan's publicity, events, advertising, trailers, digital and interactive content, and social media. Transmedia Marketing enlivens these concepts with hundreds of vibrant examples from across media platforms.

Singapore Film

Latent images : film in Singapore by Jan Uhde; Yvonne Ng Uhde
ISBN: 9789971694562
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM359

Examines Singaporean cinema and investigates the past of local film production and its characteristics of local distribution and exhibition, the growing sophistication of the city's audiences, and how people watched films here a generation ago as compared with the movie-going experience at present. The role of the infrastructure in the development of a vibrant indigenous film culture is also addressed; the Singapore International Film Festival, the Film Society, the emergence of film and media education, the need for film preservation and the impact of government economic and fiscal policies.
Queer Singapore : illiberal citizenship and mediated cultures by Jun Zubillaga-Pow (Editor)
ISBN: 9789888139330
Publication Date: 2012-10-11
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM359.

This book analyses how contemporary queer Singapore has emerged against a contradictory backdrop of sexual repression and cultural liberalisation. It provides expansive coverage of the impact of homosexuality on Singapore's media cultures and political economy. It shows how new LGBT subjectivities have been fashioned through the governance of illiberal pragmatism, how pragmatism is appropriated as a form of social and critical democratic action, and how cultural citizenship is forged through a logic of queer complicity that complicates the flows of oppositional resistance and grassroots appropriation.
Singapore cinema : new perspectives by Kai Khiun Liew (Editor); Stephen Teo (Editor)
ISBN: 113892525X
Publication Date: 2016-12-06
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM359

The book shows that although Singapore cinema is often seen as part of diasporic Chinese cinema, it is in fact much more than this, with strong connections to Malay cinema and the cinemas of other Southeast Asian nations. The themes and subjects covered by Singapore cinema range from conformity to the regime and Singapore's national outlook, with undesirable subjects overlooked or erased, to the sympathetic depiction of minorities and an outlook that is at odds with the official outlook.
Southeast Asian independent cinema : essays, documents, interviews by Tilman Baumgärtel
ISBN: 9789888083619
Publication Date: 2012-01-04
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM359

The rise of independent cinema in Southeast Asia, following the emergence of a new generation of filmmakers, is among the most significant recent developments in global cinema. The advent of affordable and easy access to digital technology has empowered startling new voices from Southeast Asia in international film circles. The appearance of fresh, sharply alternative, and often very personal voices has had a tremendous impact on local film production. This book documents these developments as a genuine outcome of the democratisation and liberalisation of film production.

Behind the camera : personal recollections of contemporary Singapore cinema by Wahyuni A. Hadi
ISBN: 9789810755911
Publication Date: 2013
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM359

Behind the Camera is a snapshot of the contemporary Singapore film industry through the personal stories and photos of some of its most talented creatives, including Boo Junfeng, Chai Yeewei, Djinn, Glen Goei, Colin Goh & Woo Yen Yen, Wahyuni A. Hadi, Eric Khoo, Adrian Pang and Jack Neo.

The Cinema of Small Nations by Mette Hjort (Editor); Duncan Petrie (Editor)
ISBN: 9780253220103
Publication Date: 2008-01-21
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM359

The Cinema of Small Nations is the first major analysis of small national cinemas, comprising 12 case studies of small national--and sub-national--cinemas from around the world, including Ireland, Denmark, Iceland, Scotland, Bulgaria, Tunisia, Cuba, Singapore, Taiwan, Hong Kong, and New Zealand. Written by an array of distinguished and emerging scholars, the case studies provide detailed analyses of the particular cinema in question, with an emphasis on the last decade, considering both institutional and textual issues relevant to the national dimension of each cinema.

Screenwriting

Adventures in the screen trade : a personal view of Hollywood and screenwriting by William Goldman
ISBN: 9780446391177
Publication Date: 1989-03-10
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM361

No one knows the writer's Hollywood more intimately than William Goldman. He now takes you into Hollywood's inner sanctums on and behind the scenes for Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, All the President's Men, and other films...into the plush offices of Hollywood producers into the working lives of acting greats such as Redford, Olivier, Newman, and Hoffman.. and into his own professional experiences and creative thought processes in the crafting of screenplays. You get a first-hand look at why and how films get made and what elements make a good screenplay.
The coffee break screenwriter : writing your script ten minutes at a time by Pilar Alessandra
ISBN: 9781615932429
Publication Date: 2016-05-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM361

The writer receives guidance and tips at every stage of the often intimidating writing process with a relaxed, "ten minutes at a time" method that focuses the writer and pushes him or her forward. At each step, writers are encouraged to "Take Ten" and tackle an element of their script using the templates and tools provided. "What You've Accomplished" sections help writers review their progress. And "Ten-Minute Lectures" distill and demystify old-school theory, allowing the writer to unblock and get writing.
Engaging Characters by Murray Smith
ISBN: 9780198183471
Publication Date: 1995-10-19
Ebook
Thrillers, tear jerkers, horror movies, melodramas--like so many movie terms, these genre designations immediately evoke characteristic kinds of emotional response. Yet emotion is a subject that film and literary theory have traditionally dealt with in only the most impressionistic and tangential fashion. This book presents a precise discussion of the varieties of emotional response to films, integrating them into a larger theory of our engagement (or "identification") with characters in both cinematic and literary fictions.
The guide for every screenwriter : from synopsis to subplots : the secrets of screenwriting revealed by Geoffrey Calhoun
ISBN: 9781733989633
Publication Date: 2019-03-29
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM361

The Guide for Every Screenwriter is one of the most efficient instruction manuals on the craft. This book cuts past the verbose exposition, and gets straight to work, delivering sample-driven outlines and templates that anyone can follow. It is quick to use and apply to your work as a side-by-side checklist for the writing process. This is the book for anyone looking to write a screenplay and for any professional needing a refresher.
Pixar storytelling : rules for effective storytelling based on Pixar's greatest films by Dean Movshovitz
ISBN: 9781717736406
Publication Date: 2015-10-04
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM361 , FLM362

Learn what Pixar's core story ideas all have in common, how they create compelling, moving conflict, and what makes their films' resolutions so emotionally satisfying. The book also examines Pixar's character development, unique, intricate story structure, and use of theme, all of which are key to the studio's storytelling achievements. This book is for writers interested in writing for animation or mainstream feature films, animators or aspiring directors who want to know how some of the best-animated films work, and even Pixar fans or film buffs who are interested in learning more about the awesome world of storytelling.
The screenwriter's bible : a complete guide to writing, formatting, and selling your script by David Trottier
ISBN: 9781935247210
Publication Date: 2019-09-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM361

The Screenwriter's Bible -- five books in one is a Screenwriting Primer -- that provides a concise course in screenwriting basics; A Screenwriting Workbook -- that walks you through the complete writing process, from nascent ideas through final revisions; A Formatting Guide -- that thoroughly covers correct formats for screenplays and TV scripts; A Writing Guide -- that demonstrates today's spec style through sample scenes and analysis, with an emphasis on grabbing the readers interest in the first ten pages; A Sales and Marketing Guide -- that presents proven strategies to help you create a laser-sharp marketing plan.
Screenwriting in a Digital Era by Kathryn Millard
ISBN: 9781137319104
Publication Date: 2014-03-07
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM361

Screenwriting in a Digital Era examines the practices of writing for the screen from early Hollywood to the new realism. Looking back to prehistories of the form, Kathryn Millard links screenwriting to visual and oral storytelling around the globe and explores new methods of collaboration and authorship in the digital environment.
Story : substance, structure, style and the principles of screenwriting by Robert McKee
ISBN: 0413715507
Publication Date: 1941- 2014
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM361

Robert McKee's Story: substance, structure, style and the principles of screenwriting is a comprehensive and superbly organised exploration of all elements, from the basic to advanced concepts. It is a practical course, presenting new perspectives on the craft of storytelling, not just for the screenwriter but for the novelist, playwright, journalist, and non-fiction writers of all types.
Story Boarding Essentials : How to Translate Your Story to the Screen for Film, TV, and Other Media by David Harland Rousseau; Benjamin Reid Phillips
ISBN: 9780770436940
Publication Date: 2013-06-25
Physical Book-not found
Suggested reading for FLM361, FLM362

A comprehensive guide to visual storytelling from Savannah College of Art and Design. Storyboarding is the process of graphically organising a project-a motion picture, animation, motion graphic, or interactive media sequence in order to translate artists' ideas from story to screen. Whether you're a filmmaker, animator, ad director, writer, or video-game artist-storyboarding is a skill that is absolutely critical. Storyboarding Essentials covers everything students and working professionals need to master the art of writing and formatting scripts, creating frames, and following visual logic to create a cohesive narrative.
Storynomics : story-driven marketing in the post-advertising world by Robert Mckee; Thomas Gerace
ISBN: 9781538727935
Publication Date: 2018-03-20
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM361

Storynomics translates the lessons of storytelling in business into economic and leadership success. After successfully guiding organisations such as Samsung, Marriott International, Philips, Microsoft, Nike, IBM, and Siemens to transform their marketing from an ad-centric to a story-centric approach, McKee and Gerace now bring this knowledge to business leaders and entrepreneurs alike. Drawing from dozens of story-driven strategies and case studies taken from leading B2B and B2C brands, Storynomics demonstrates how original storytelling delivers results that surpass traditional advertising.

Shakespeare On Film

Shakespeare on Film

Shakespeare on Screen: Othello by Sarah Hatchuel (Editor); Nathalie Vienne-Guerrin (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107109735
Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363.

This book explores the cultural investigation of what Othello says about Shakespeare, the past, and our present time, supported by an invaluable film bibliography. An international cast of authors explores not only productions from the USA and UK but also translations, adaptations, and appropriations in Québec, Italy, India, Brazil, and Mexico.
Shakespeare on silent film : a strange eventful history by Robert Hamilton Ball
ISBN: 1138996114
Publication Date: 2016-02-29
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

Robert Hamilton Ball traces in detail the fate of Shakespeare on silent films from Tree's first effort until the establishment of sound in 1929. The silent films brought Shakespeare to a wide public who had never had the chance to see his plays in the theatre. And Shakespeare gave the filmmakers an air of respectability that was badly needed by a medium with a reputation for frivolity. This work, first published in 1968, brings history to life with excerpts from scenarios, from reviews and from contemporary film journals, and with reproduction of stills and frames from the films themselves, including unusual shots of leading screen actors.
Theatres on film : how the cinema imagines the stage by Russell Jackson
ISBN: 0719099927
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

Theatres on Film is an innovative contribution to the study of both theatre and film history. From the early days of cinema, the relationship between theatre and cinema has been one of tension in which the need to assert independence is mingled with a degree of respect and anxiety regarding the supposedly superior status of the senior partner. Rather than attempt, a catalog of a survey of the hundreds of films in which theatre appears, Theatres on Film focuses on the significance and effect of theatrical subject matter in key films in several genres.
Shakespeare and film : a Norton guide by Samuel Crowl
ISBN: 9780393927658
Publication Date: 2007-12-10
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

The book includes a glossary of film and critical terminology as well as annotated selected bibliographies and filmographies. Written with verve and insight by an award-winning teacher and scholar, Shakespeare and Film: A Norton Guide is the ideal introduction to film adaptations of Shakespeare's plays from the silent era to the present.
Shakespeare on Film by Jack J. Jorgens
ISBN: 0819181579
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

Concerned with the creative possibilities of rendering Shakespeare on film, the book studies the interpretations of Shakespeare by major directors such as Orson Welles, Roman Polanski, Peter Brook, Franco Zeffirelli, Akira Kurosawa, and Grigori Kozintsev. It explores the overlapping, hotly disputed borderlands of literature, theater, and film. It provides a detailed analysis of 16 major films, illuminating the relations between Renaissance visions and modern re-visions, the parallels of poetic and cinematic imagery, and the quests of directors for significant cinematic style.
Shakespeare on Film by Judith R. Buchanan
ISBN: 0582437164
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

Shakespeare on Film deftly examines an extensive range of films that have emerged from the curious union of an iconic dramatist with a medium of mass appeal. The many films Buchanan studies are shown to be telling indicators of trends in Shakespearean performance interpretation, illuminating markers of developments in the film industry and culturally revealing about broader influences in the world beyond the movie theatre. As with other titles from the Inside Film series, the book is illustrated throughout with stills. Each chapter concludes with a list of suggested further reading in the field.
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film by Russell Jackson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521639750
Publication Date: 2000-10-26
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

This lively Companion is a collection of critical and historical essays on the films adapted from and inspired by, Shakespeare's plays. Leading scholars discuss Shakespearean films from a variety of perspectives--as works of art in their own right, as products of the international movie industry, in relation to cinematic and theatrical genres, and as the work of particular directors from Laurence Olivier and Orson Welles to Franco Zeffirelli and Kenneth Branagh. The volume includes strong coverage of adaptations of Hamlet, Richard III, Macbeth, King Lear, and Romeo and Juliet.
A history of Shakespeare on screen : a century of film and television by Kenneth S. Rothwell
ISBN: 9780521543118
Publication Date: 2004-10-28
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

This book chronicles how filmmakers have re-imagined Shakespeare's plays from the earliest exhibitions in music halls and nickelodeons to today's multi-million dollar productions shown in megaplexes. The new edition updates the chronology to the year 2003 and includes a new chapter on such recent films as John Madden's Shakespeare in Love, Kenneth Branagh's Love's Labours Lost, Michael Almereyda's Hamlet, and Billy Morrissette's Scotland, Pa. An up-to-date filmography, bibliography, and index of names make it invaluable as a one-volume reference work.
Shakespeare and World Cinema by Mark Thornton Burnett
ISBN: 9781107559561
Publication Date: 2015-10-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

This book explores the contemporary significance of Shakespeare cinema outside the Hollywood mainstream, arguing that these adaptations are an essential part of the story of Shakespearean performance and reception. It discusses regional Shakespeare cinema in Latin America and Asia. Utilising original interviews with filmmakers throughout, it introduces new auteurs, analyses multiple adaptations of plays, and pioneers fresh methodologies for understanding the role that Shakespeare continues to play in the international marketplace.
Shakespeare and the English-Speaking Cinema by Russell Jackson
ISBN: 9780199659463
Publication Date: 2014-12-09
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

Shakespeare and the English-speaking Cinema is a lively, authoritative, and innovative overview of the ways in which Shakespeare's plays have been adapted for cinema. Organised by topics rather than chronology, it offers detailed commentary on significant films, including both 'mainstream' and 'canonical' works by directors such as Laurence Olivier, Orson Welles, and Franco Zeffirelli, Chapters on the location of films in place and time, the effect of this on characterisation, and issues of gender and political power are followed by a discussion of work that goes beyond Shakespeare.
Shakespeare on Film by Maurice Hindle
ISBN: 9781137286840
Publication Date: 2015-09-11
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

An approachable guide to Shakespeare on Film, this book establishes the differences between stage and screen. It covers the history of Shakespeare on the screen since 1899 and discusses various modes and conventions of adaptations. Thoroughly updated to include the most recent films, for instance, Joss Whedon's 2013 Much Ado About Nothing, it also explores the latest technology, such as DVD and Blu-ray, as well as live stage-to-screen productions. It also includes an exclusive interview with filmmaker John Wyver, discussing his own adaptations for the small screen.
Shakespeare films : a re-evaluation of 100 years of adaptations by Peter E. S. Babiak
ISBN: 9781476662541
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

This study reexamines the recognised "canon" of films based on Shakespeare's plays and argues that it should be broadened by breaking with two unnecessary standards: the characterisation of the director as "auteur" of a play's screen adaptation and the convention of excluding films with contemporary language or modern or alternative settings or which use the play as a subtext. The emphasis is shifted from the director's contribution to the film's social, cultural, and historical contexts. The work of the auteurs is reevaluated within present-day contexts, preserving the established canon while proposing new criteria for inclusion.
A Theory of Adaptation by Linda Hutcheon
ISBN: 9780415539388
Publication Date: 2012-08-27
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363, FLM361

This book explores the continuous development of creative adaptation and argues that the practice of adapting is central to the story-telling imagination. Linda Hutcheon develops a theory of adaptation through a range of media, from film and opera to video games, pop music, and theme parks, analysing the breadth, scope, and creative possibilities within each. She considers the impact of transmedia practices and properties on the form and practice of adaptation, as well as studying the extension of game narrative across media platforms, fan-based adaptation (from Twitter and Facebook to home movies), and the adaptation of books to digital formats.
Film Marketing by Finola Kerrigan
ISBN: 9781317747055
Publication Date: 2017-07-20
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM363

The role of the film marketer is both vital and challenging. Kerrigan takes a socio-cultural, as well as a business view of film marketing and its impact, covering different approaches to promotion according to different aims and audiences internally and externally, and across the world. This book addresses all areas of film marketing from the rigorous perspective of someone with first-hand knowledge of the trade.
The Cambridge Companion to Shakespeare on Film by Russell Jackson (Editor)
ISBN: 9781107481534
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

An international team of leading scholars discusses Shakespearean films from a variety of perspectives: as works of art in their own right; as products of the international movie industry; and as the work of particular directors from Laurence Olivier and Orson Welles to Franco Zeffirelli and Kenneth Branagh. They also consider specific issues such as the portrayal of Shakespeare's women and the supernatural. The emphasis is on feature films for cinema, rather than television, with strong coverage of Hamlet, Richard III, Macbeth, King Lear, and Romeo and Juliet.

Practical Filmmaking

Audio Postproduction for Digital Video by Jay Rose
ISBN: 9781136063015
Publication Date: 2012-01-10
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM362.

This book features software agnostic tutorials and "cookbook recipes" for each phase of postaudio processing. The author begins with a section of FAQs from readers of the author's magazine column. After summarising the significant points of audio theory, the author describes the preliminaries of setting up a post-studio. From there he details every aspect of postproduction - from getting the tracks into the computer, to 'fixing and mixing,' to dealing with details of compression and streaming.
The Cambridge Companion to Literature on Screen by Deborah Cartmell (Editor); Imelda Whelehan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781139797962
Publication Date: 2012-10-31
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM363

The Cambridge Companion to Literature on Screen offers a multi-disciplinary approach to literature on film and television. Writers are drawn from different backgrounds to consider broad topics, such as the issue of adaptation from novels and plays to the screen, canonical and popular literature, fantasy, genre, and adaptations for children. There are also case studies, such as Shakespeare, Jane Austen, the nineteenth-century novel, and modernism, which allow the reader to place adaptations of the work of writers within a wider context.
A Companion to Contemporary French Cinema by Alistair Fox (Editor); Michel Marie (Editor); Raphaëlle Moine (Editor); Hilary Radner (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118585368
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
Ebook

A collection of original essays addressing all aspects of French cinema from 1990 to the present day. Features original contributions from top film scholars relating to all aspects of contemporary French cinema. Includes new research on matters relating to the political economy of contemporary French cinema, developments in cinema policy, audience attendance, and the types, building, and renovation of theaters. Contains an unusually large range of methodological approaches and perspectives, including those of genre, gender, auteur, industry, economic, star, postcolonial and psychoanalytic studies. Includes essays by French cinema scholars.
The Filmmaker's Eye - The Language of the Lens by Gustavo Mercado
ISBN: 9780415821315
Publication Date: 2019-07-17
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103, FLM201, FLM362

This book describes how lenses can produce aesthetically and narratively compelling images in movies, through a close examination of the various ways lens techniques control the look of space, movement, focus, flares, distortion, and the "optical personality" of your story's visual landscape. It provides filmmakers, at any level or experience, with a wealth of knowledge to unleash the full expressive power of any lens at their disposal, whether they are shooting with state-of-the-art cinema lenses or a smartphone, and everything in between.
Genre Filmmaking by Danny Draven
ISBN: 9780240824215
Publication Date: 2013-04-24
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM201, FLM362

Learn how to execute the visual style of your genre in this highly illustrative, inspirational guide to shots and sequences for genre films. Jam-packed with full-color examples from the movies you love. Learn, for example, how to play with the emotions and expectations of your audience by using camera techniques such as dolly zooms and ghost reveals.
Master Shots, Vol. 3 by Christopher Kenworthy
ISBN: 9781615931545
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201, FLM362

A highly visual exploration of the best shots, moves, and set-ups in the industry. This books reveals the secrets behind each shot's success, so it can be adapted to the director's individual scenes.
Notes on the Cinematograph by Robert Bresson
ISBN: 9781681370248
Publication Date: 2016-11-15
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM201, FLM362

The French film director Robert Bresson was one of the great artists of the twentieth century and among the most radical, original, and radiant stylists of any time. Notes on the Cinematograph distills the essence of Bresson's theory and practice as a filmmaker and artist. He discusses the fundamental differences between theater and film; parses the deep grammar of silence, music, and noise; and affirms the mysterious power of the image to unlock the human soul.
Producing Great Sound for Film and Video by Jay Rose
ISBN: 9780415722070
Publication Date: 2014-07-17
In Producing Great Sound for Film and Video, Fourth Edition audio guru Jay Rose revises his popular text for a new generation of filmmakers. You'll learn practical, time-saving ways to get better recordings, solve problems with existing audio, create compelling tracks, and boost your filmmaking to the next level! Here you'll find real-world advice and practical guidelines for every aspect of your soundtrack: planning and budgeting, field and studio recording, editing, sound effects and music, audio repair, processing, and mixing. Rose's combination of solid technical information and a clear, step-by-step approach has made this the go-to book for producers and film students for over a decade.
Professional Storyboarding by Sergio Paez; Anson Jew
ISBN: 9780240817705
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM361, FLM362

Storyboarding is a very tough business, and a new storyboarder really needs to have their wits about them and have the professional savvy to survive in this competitive field. Professional Storyboarding: Rules of Thumb offers highly illustrative examples of basic storyboarding concepts, as well as sound, career-oriented advice for the new artist. This book also features a number of veteran storyboard artists sharing their experiences in the professional world.
The Social Cinema of Jean Renoir by Christopher Faulkner
ISBN: 1400854733
Publication Date: 2014-07-14
Ebook
Suggested reading for Film Theory

Reinterpreting twelve of Renoir's best-known works, Professor Faulkner attributes their qualities not to the director's unified sensibility but to varying social and historical circumstances.
Sound by Kathryn Kalinak
ISBN: 081356428X
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
Ebook
Suggested reading for FLM101, FLM103, FLM201, FLM362

This book introduces key concepts, seminal moments, and pivotal figures in the development of cinematic sound. Each of the book's six chapters covers a different era in the history of Hollywood, from silent films to the digital age, and is written by an expert in that period. Together, the book's contributors are able to explore a remarkable range of past and present film industry practices, from the hiring of elocution coaches to the marketing of soundtrack records.

Film Festivals

I made a short film now WTF do I do with it : a guide to film festivals, promotion, and surviving the ride by Clarissa Jacobson
ISBN: 9781620063385
Publication Date: 2019-07-07
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM362, FLM365.

Jam-packed with hard-earned knowledge, tips, and secrets on how to enter film festivals, promote your movie and succeed! It covers everything from what festivals to submit to, how to maximise your money, secure an international presence, deal with rejection, gain publicity, harness the power of social media, what a sales rep does and much more. Included are exclusive filmmaker discounts on services/products from the festival platform, Report, subtitling company, Captionmax, and promo merchandisers, Medias Frankenstein, and The Ink Spot.
So you want to start a film festival : conversations with top festival creators by Jon Gann
ISBN: 9781519166654
Publication Date: 2015-12-06
Physical Book
Suggested reading for FLM365.

Explore the genesis stories of 16 film festivals - hear the honest tales of heartache and passion - and discover the lasting impact of their events on their communities and the film industry. Interviews with the founders of- AFIDocs- CineKink- Citizen Jane Film Festival- Cucalorus Film Festival- EcoFocus Film Festival- Edmonton International Film Festival- GI Film Festival- Holly Shorts Film Festival- Pasadena International Film Festival- Portland Film Festival- ReelShorts Film Festival- SF IndieFest- Sidewalk Film Festival- SXSW- Tribeca Film Festival - WAMMFest- Woods Hole Film Festival.
Film Festivals by Marijke de Valck
ISBN: 9789053562161
Publication Date: 2007-12-04
Ebook
Suggested reading from FLM365

Focusing on the world's most famous festivals, Film Festivals tells the story of a phenomenon that began in the midst of geopolitical disputes in war-torn Europe. De Valck shows how festivals turned the odds into advantages and developed into a successful global network. Taking into account the oft multilateral influences of major actors, such as Hollywood, the avant-garde, and political/economic agendas, the book offers a comprehensive understanding of film festivals. A must-read for everyone interested in quality film cultures that revolve around cultural value, aesthetic innovation, and socio-political relevance.

Additonal Resouces

Click on the title to access the resource

This list of databases is indicative only. Please click on the title to access the resource.

More may be found in our Library Databases A-Z. Please click here.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to independent and documentary films. Notable content includes The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation and 297 videos from Psychotherapy.net. The subscription covers 63 packages such as Anthropology, Business Case Studies, Computer Science & Technology, Education Documentary, Engineering, Film Studies, Law & Criminal Justice, Mental Health, Movies, Political Science, Psychology and World Cinema.
Relevant packages include - Classic Cinema, Documentaries, Comedy, Early Film, Film Studies, World Cinema, Horror & Thriller, Independent Cinema, Movies and Short Film.

This list of journals is indicative only.. Please click on the title to access the resource.

More journals may be found in our Library Databases A-Z. Please click here.

American Cinematographer American Cinematographer is a magazine published monthly by the American Society of Cinematographers. It focuses on the art and craft of cinematography, covering domestic and foreign feature productions, television productions, short films, music videos and commercials. The emphasis is on interviews with cinematographers, but directors and other filmmakers are often featured as well. Articles include technical how-to pieces, discussions of tools and technologies that affect cinematography, and historical features.
BioScope : South Asian screen studies ISSN : 0976-352X SAGE Humanities and Social Sciences
Boxoffice Ridgefield, CT : BoxOffice Media, LLC
Cinema journal (Online) ISSN : 1527-2087 Society for Cinema Studies, issuing body. 1967-[2018 Most recent 1 year(s) not available.
Film Comment ISSN: 0015119X Film Society of Lincoln Center
Film Criticism ISSN:01635069 Allegheny College
Film History ISSN: 08922160 Indiana University Press Note: Most recent 4 year(s) not available
Film Quarterly ISSN: 0015-1386 by University of California Press
Journal of Chinese cinemas ISSN : 1750-807X Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Journal of Film and Video ISSN: 07424671 by University of Illinois Press ; University Film & Video Association Note: Most recent 4 year(s) not available
Journal of Japanese & Korean cinema ISSN : 1756-4913 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Journal of Popular Film and Television ISSN: 0195-6051 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Moving image (Minneapolis, Minn. : Online) Association of Moving Image Archivists. ©2001- ISSN : 1542-4235 Most recent 4 year(s) not available
New review of film and television studies ISSN : 1740-7923 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
On film (Wellington, N.Z.) ISSN : 1176-8436 Wellington, NZ : ONFILM magazine
Playback (Toronto, Ont. : 1986) ISSN : 0836-2114 Toronto : Brunico Communications
Screen ISSN : 1460-2474 by Oxford University Press
Shakespeare on film newsletter ISSN : 2638-3411 Bernice W Kliman Kenneth S Rothwell (Kenneth Sprague) University of Vermont. Department of English. 1976-1992
Shoot (New York, N.Y. : Online) ISSN : 1944-7868
Studies in Australasian cinema ISSN : 1750-3183 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Studies in documentary film ISSN : 1750-3299 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Studies in Eastern European cinema ISSN : 2040-3518 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Studies in European cinema ISSN : 2040-0594 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Studies in French cinema ISSN : 1758-9517 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Studies in Russian and Soviet cinema ISSN : 1750-3140 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Transnational cinemas 2010 ISSN : 2040-3534 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Transnational screens 2019 ISSN : 2578-5265 Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library

Apprentice
Suggested for FLM359.FLM101

Aiman is a 28-year-old Malay correctional officer who is recently transferred to the territory's top prison. He lives with his older sister Suhaila in a modest housing estate. At his new workplace, Aiman begins to take an interest in a 65-year-old sergeant named Rahim. Soon, it is revealed that the charismatic Rahim is actually the long-serving chief executioner of the prison.
A land imagined
Winner of the prestigious Golden Leopard at the 71ˢᵗ Locarno Film Festival 2018 and Best Asian Feature at the 29ᵗʰ Singapore International Film Festival 2018, A Land Imagined by Yeo Siew Hua won Best Original Screenplay and Best Original Film Score at Taipei’s 56ᵗʰ Golden Horse Awards 2019. The film is Singapore’s entry to the 2020 Academy Awards (Oscars) Best International Feature Film category. Set in industrial Singapore, police investigator Lok must find missing migrant worker Wang. Wang suffers from a worksite accident and is anxious about repatriation. Unable to sleep, Wang starts frequenting a dreamy cybercafé in the dead of the night. Hoping to look for some form of human connection in this foreign land he feels alienated from, Wang forms a virtual friendship with a mysterious gamer that takes a sinister turn. When Wang suddenly disappears, Lok digs deep into the trail leading to a land reclamation site, in order to uncover the truth beneath all that sand.

Links Beyond SUSS

Click on the title to access the resource

NLB Eresources
EBSCOhost Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is the resource for researchers of film and television, providing the most comprehensive, balanced collection of full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.