Skip to Main Content

A Guide to Using the Library: Faculty & Associates Edition

Welcome to SUSS Library!

Find us here at library.suss.edu.sg!


Start your learning and research journey with us! Make SUSS Library your first stop for electronic resources for your assignments and academic research.

This guide serves as a little overview of what the library offers, and how you can make the most of our resources to support your research.

You can always Ask The Library by emailing us at ask@suss.libanswers.com, or check out our FAQs.

1. Library Search

Your Journey Begins Here.

To look for journal articles, e-books and other information resources, enter your keywords in the search box located on library homepage. You may also access https://search.library.suss.edu.sg directly for more options, e.g., title, author searches:

For help using Library Search, visit here.

undefined

 

2. Login

You will be prompted to sign in to your account with your SUSS user ID and password when accessing licensed resources. You can also access your library account, where you can save and manage your search results (pin icon), along with your search queries. By logging in, you will also be able to carry out more complete searches and save your personalisation settings.

Learn how to log in here. If you have forgotten your password or user ID, go to the Associate Portal to reset your account.

undefined

undefined

 

3. Databases A-Z

 

undefined

 

You may browse an alphabetical listing of library databases and collections at https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/az.php.

Most of the Library’s eBooks are hosted in eBooks (EBSCO) and may be located using Library Search. To browse this and other eBook collections, filter databases by type: eBook Collection.

To search for newspaper articles, use Factiva or SPH’s Newslink. For more news resources, filter databases by type: Newspapers & Magazines.

If you are looking for a specific journal, go to Journals A-Z on Library Search and key in the journal’s title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).

A list of databases that are searchable only within their respective platforms is provided on the Library Search page.

4. Journals & BrowZine

To read your favorite journals on the go, download the BrowZine app to your preferred devices:


https://thirdiron.com/download-browzine
 

An overview of BrowZine can be found in this how-to guide: https://libguides.suss.edu.sg/browzine

Should you come across resources outside the SUSS Library Portal, you can easily check if the University has a subscription by adding the Library’s proxy bookmarklet and LibKey Nomad extension to your browser and linking Google Scholar to SUSS Library.

5. Research Guides

We also build Research Guides to connect students to key resources in their field of study, help them make the most of the library, and more. We welcome opportunities to work with you to help students leverage library resources for specific courses. Connect with us at library@suss.edu.sg.

Do check out our blog, SUSS It Out! as well, for library updates, extra tips and tricks relating to resources, and academic life in general:

6. Ask The Library

Have a question? We are here to help.

Browse our knowledge base of students’ frequently asked questions at https://libanswers.suss.edu.sg.

Can’t find the answer you need? Email the Library team at ask@suss.libanswers.com or fill in the online form at https://libanswers.suss.edu.sg/form.php.

You may also arrange to meet with our librarians at https://suss.libcal.com/appointments.

undefined

 

7. Instruction Sessions and Workshops

We conduct library workshops to develop students’ information literacy skills. We also work with faculty on library instructional sessions tailored to your course goals. Get in touch with us to schedule in-class library sessions for your students.

We also recommend to students a course on Information Literacy in LinkedIn Learning as well as other bite-sized videos we have curated in collections such as ‘Conducting a Literature Review’ and ‘Citing Academic Papers’.

8. Learning Spaces

Partnership with SIM Library

In light of the COVID-19 situation, please refer to this blog post for updates.


We have also provided you with student membership to SIM’s Tay Eng Soon Library, located at Block A, Level 2, for physical library materials and other on-site services and facilities.

Please refer to their website for your borrowing privileges: https://library.sim.edu.sg/

You might also refer to SIM Library Fast Facts to get acquainted with the library.
 

Operating Hours of SIM Library

Mondays to Fridays: 9am to 5pm
Saturdays: 9am to 5pm (by email or phone only)

SIM Library extends its operating hours during exam periods. Please check the SIM Library website or SIM Library Facebook page for updates.
 

Contact SIM Library

Email: libenq@sim.edu.sg
Phone: +65 6248 9601
 

SIM Library Login

Username: Student PI Number
Password: Date of Birth (DDMMYYYY)
 

SIM Library Mobile App

Download the mobile app at PlayStore (Android) and AppStore (IOS) to:

  • View loans, requests and reservations
  • Check availability of library books and facilities
  • Receive alerts on library news and events
  • Email or make calls to SIM Library helpdesk

 

SMS Notification Service

SMS messages include friendly loan reminders and alerts for reserved print books:

  • Friendly Loan Reminder
    SMS notification will be sent out at 6am, three days before the due date.
  • Alert - Availability of Reserved Items
    SMS notification will be sent out immediately when the item requested is available.

eBrochure

eBrochure

 

Videos

Videos

 

undefined

(Click image to open video)

You may also view our library orientation videos in Panopto:
9 Ways to Get the Most out of Your University Library (English version)
9 Ways to Get the Most out of Your University Library (Mandarin version)
 

If you need a guide on how to login to Panopto click here