Skip to Main Content

A Guide to Using the Library: Student Edition

Your Journey Begins Here.

1. Welcome to SUSS Library!

Find us here at library.suss.edu.sg!


Start your learning and research journey with us! Make SUSS Library your first stop for electronic resources for your assignments and academic research.

This guide serves as a little overview of what the library offers, and how you can make the most of our resources to support your research.

You can always Ask The Library by emailing us at ask@suss.libanswers.com, or check out our FAQs.

2. Library Search

Your Journey Begins Here.

Enter your keywords into the search box on the SUSS Library website to look for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, news, reports, dissertations, proceedings, videos, datasets and more. You may also access Primo directly for more options, e.g., title and author searches.

undefined

undefined

3. Login

Sign in to your account with your SUSS username and password (the same ID and password you use to login to Canvas and Student Portal) to carry out more complete searches and get secured access to licensed resources. By logging in, you will also be able to save your search results (using the thumbnail icon) for future reference.

undefined

undefined

Learn how to log in here.

Forgot your password, or need to reset your account? Learn how to do so here.

4. Databases A-Z

 

undefined

 

Find library databases and e-collections at Databases A-Z.

If you are looking for a specific journal, go to Journals A-Z on Primo and key in the journal’s title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number).

If you're searching for newspaper articles, please do so directly on Newslink or Factiva instead.

Most of our ebooks are hosted in eBook Collection (EBSCO). To browse this and other book collections, select eBook Collection as Database Type at Databases A-Z.

5. Journals A-Z & BrowZine

To read your favorite journals on the go, download the BrowZine app to your preferred devices:


https://thirdiron.com/download-browzine
 

An overview of BrowZine can be found in this how-to guide.

You can also directly search our Journals A-Z.

6. Ask The Library

We have prepared some FAQs which you may also find helpful. Can’t find the answer you need? Send in your question or make an appointment with our librarians.

We're available weekdays, 9.30am to 5.30pm (and until 6pm on Wednesdays).

undefined

 

7. Research Guides

We are here to connect you to resources to get your work done. Consult our Research Guides for key resources in your field of study, to find out how to do library research and more. We recommend you go through the following:

Do check out our blog, SUSS It Out! as well, for library updates, extra tips and tricks relating to resources, and academic life in general:

8. Instruction Sessions and Workshops

We conduct library workshops to develop your literacy skills. You can make an appointment with our librarians to get personalized guidance on using library resources.

We have also curated a Library Research collection in LinkedIn Learning for courses such as Information Literacy (1h 47min) as well as bite-sized videos on conducting literature reviews and using various citation styles.

You can always Ask The Library to request for an instructional session at ask@suss.libanswers.com, or check out or FAQs.

9. Learning Spaces

Partnership with SIM Library

In light of the COVID-19 situation, please refer to this blog post for updates.


We have also provided you with student membership to SIM’s Tay Eng Soon Library, located at Block A, Level 2, for physical library materials and equipment loans, study spaces and discussion rooms, and other on-site services and facilities.

Your SUSS student card serves as your SIM Library card. Please refer to their website for your borrowing privileges: https://library.sim.edu.sg/

You might also refer to SIM Library Fast Facts to get acquainted with the library.
 

Operating Hours of SIM Library

Mondays to Fridays: 9am to 5pm
Saturdays: 9am to 5pm (by email or phone only)

SIM Library extends its operating hours during exam periods. Please check the SIM Library website or SIM Library Facebook page for updates.
 

Contact SIM Library

Email: libenq@sim.edu.sg
Phone: +65 6248 9601
 

SIM Library Login

Username: Student PI Number
Password: Date of Birth (DDMMYYYY)
 

Study Spaces

SIM Library offers learning spaces to meet your varied learning needs. Find out more here.
 

SIM Library Mobile App

Download the mobile app at PlayStore (Android) and AppStore (IOS) to:

  • View loans, requests and reservations
  • Check availability of library books and facilities
  • Receive alerts on library news and events
  • Email or make calls to SIM Library helpdesk

 

SMS Notification Service

SMS messages include friendly loan reminders and alerts for reserved print books:

  • Friendly Loan Reminder
    SMS notification will be sent out at 6am, three days before the due date.
  • Alert - Availability of Reserved Items
    SMS notification will be sent out immediately when the item requested is available.
     

Xpress Collect (Student Hub, Block B, Level 1)

Reserve your notebooks here. You can collect your reserved items by scanning your student card.

Services available at Xpress Collect:

  • Pick up reserved books during or after library opening hours.
  • Pick up notebooks if you have made advanced booking via the library booking system.

eBrochure

 

Videos

 

undefined

(Click image to open video)

You may also view our library orientation videos in Panopto:

9 Ways to Get the Most out of Your University Library (English version)
9 Ways to Get the Most out of Your University Library (Mandarin version)

How to login to Panopto