Engineering Aerospace Systems

Back-action of aerodynamics onto structures such as wings cause vibrations and may resonantly couple to them, thus causing instabilities (flutter) and endangering the whole structure. By careful choices of geometry, materials and damping mechanisms, hazardous effects on wind engines, planes, turbines and cars can be avoided. Besides an introduction into the problem of flutter, new formulations of flutter problems are given as well as a treatise of supersonic flutter and of a whole range of mechanical effects. Numerical and analytical methods to study them are developed and applied to the analysis of new classes of flutter problems for plates and shallow shells of arbitrary plane form. Specific problems discussed in the book in the context of numerical simulations are supplemented by Fortran code examples (available on the website).

Atlas of Material Damage, Second Edition provides a systematic analysis of the modes of damage and morphology of damaged material, and compares the experiences of different industries to provide insight into the most frequently encountered failures, reasons for these failures, and potential improvements to prevent future materials failure. Product reliability is a critical aim of materials scientists and engineers. Uninterrupted performance of manufactured products at typical and extreme conditions of use is the major goal of product development and the most important indicator of material quality. This atlas has microscopic pictures, schematic diagrams, and graphs which show how materials fail, how they are produced to not fail, and how they are designed to perform particular functions to make outstanding products. Findings presented by each illustration are fully explained in the text and labeled. Materials increasingly must have optimal structure and specially designed morphology. The book offers numerous examples of how this special morphology can be achieved in electronics, the plastics industry, the pharmaceutical industry, aerospace, automotive applications, medicine, dentistry, and many other fields. This book provides information on defect formation and materials damage; discusses effect of composition, morphological features and structure of different materials on material performance, durability, and resilience; and analyses the cause of material damage and degradation, and the effect of processing conditions on material damage.

Combustion instability has long been recognized as one of the most important but difficult problems in the development of propulsion systems. The U.S. and the former Soviet Union were simultaneously working during the Cold War to solve the instability problem. However, the scientific basis and engineering approach employed by the Soviets remained largely unknown to the Western world.This book - much of it formerly classified material - is a clear exposition of much of the theoretical work on combustion instabilities, performed in support of the Soviet liquid rocket program during its most vigorous period. While there are similarities between Western and Eastern works, there are many distinct differences. The author was one of the small group of Soviet theorists actively engaged in all of the Soviet liquid rocket programs. His development of the field is firmly grounded in fundamental ideas, and progresses to applications of a general sort. A chapter added since the original Russian edition covers both theory and experiment for bifurcations of dynamical behavior in liquid rocket chambers.

Conflict in cyberspace is becoming more prevalent in all public and private sectors and is of concern on many levels. As a result, knowledge of the topic is becoming essential across most disciplines. This book reviews and explains the technologies that underlie offensive and defensive cyber operations, which are practiced by a range of cyber actors including state actors, criminal enterprises, activists, and individuals. It explains the processes and technologies that enable the full spectrum of cyber operations. Readers will learn how to use basic tools for cyber security and pen-testing, and also be able to quantitatively assess cyber risk to systems and environments and discern and categorize malicious activity. The book provides key concepts of information age conflict technical basics/fundamentals needed to understand more specific remedies and activities associated with all aspects of cyber operations. It explains techniques associated with offensive cyber operations, with careful distinctions made between cyber ISR, cyber exploitation, and cyber attack. It explores defensive cyber operations and includes case studies that provide practical information, making this book useful for both novice and advanced information warfare practitioners. The ultimate objective of the book is to provide a concise text book for university students on science and engineering courses as well as for professional practitioners. principles and physical systems used for harvesting and harnessing of renewable resources and makes comprehensive use of worked examples and problems. Readers will also learn how to effectively calculate the cost and payback time for a given renewable energy plant by understanding the factors affecting the cost of generating electricity from a renewable energy system. The book uses a simplified mathematical approach and provides appropriate background material.

Written by a prominent expert in the field, this authoritative new resource presents anti-ship missile (ASM) electronic protection (EP) techniques designed to enhance accurate target classification. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to modern electronic warfare (EW) in an era of information warfare (IW). It explores the capabilities of coherent radar and digital signal processing to rapidly and accurately classify targets that ultimately save lives. Both naval and air electronic EW are covered in this resource. This book gives insight into modern EW as an information battle and includes guidance on properly testing the effectiveness of electronic attack (EA) systems.Pulsed Doppler radar basics including, electromagnetic pulse, dynamic range, gain control, and Doppler effects are presented. A summary of the ASM sensor and EA model is provided and readers find coverage of the radar range equation, burn through, and the range Doppler map and imaging. Special topic-extended target classifications including, false, decoys, and chaff are explained. Special topic ASM EP waveforms and multiple receiver EP are also covered. This book explores features of algorithms to optimize combining multiple parameters and systems. Moreover, it explains several algorithms proposed by PRC personnel to implement optimal two-channel processing that mitigates cover noise EA.

Flow control technologies have been used in the past century to control fluid flows. This text presents the current state of the art in emerging modern flow control technologies and highlights the application of these technologies to aerospace platforms. Initial chapters introduce the fundamentals of modern flow control, including basic concepts, terminology, history, flow physics, actuators, sensors, modeling/simulation, and instability and control theories. Applications of flow control to current and next-generation air vehicle systems, including fixed wing airfoils, turbomachinery, combustion, aeroacoustics, vehicle propulsion integration, and rotorcraft are discussed. This text is an excellent introduction to the wide-ranging uses of modern flow control.

Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation provides a thoroughly practical survey of all aspects of adhesives technology from selection and surface preparation to industrial applications and health and environmental factors. The resulting handbook is a hard-working reference for a wide range of engineers and technicians working in the adhesives industry and a variety of industry sectors that make considerable use of adhesives. Particular attention is given to adhesives applications in the automotive, aerospace, medical, dental and electronics sectors.

Over the past decade, new cutting-edge technologies have drastically changed the way radar and electronic warfare systems are implemented. This extensively revised and expanded edition of an Artech House bestseller delivers the most up-to-date overview of electronic defense systems. Bringing practitioners up-to-speed with the latest technological advances, the Third Edition details a completely new method of implementing these modern systems. Moreover, this edition is packed with updated illustrations of key assets, including aircraft, ships, and radars. Readers get a solid understanding of how sophisticated electronic warfare weapon systems work, and how these weapons can be intercepted and electronically jammed. From search and tracking radar, IR systems, and communication systems... to electronic intercept systems, countermeasures, and counter-countermeasures, the book explores a broad spectrum of defense equipment. It explains how these systems operate, the advantages and drawbacks of each system, and the theories on which these systems are based. This authoritative resource includes 180 illustrations and 400 equations that support key topics throughout the book.

The Jet Engine provides a complete, accessible description of the working and underlying principles of the gas turbine. Accessible, non-technical approach explaining the workings of jet engines, for readers of all levels Full colour diagrams, cutaways and photographs throughout Written by RR specialists in all the respective fields Hugely popular and well-reviewed book, originally published in 2005 under Rolls Royce's own imprint 

Over the next twenty years, the role and contributions of successfully managed projects will continue to grow in importance to aerospace organizations, especially considering the demands of emerging markets.The accompanying challenges will be how to effectively reduce product and process cost where known (incremental) and unknown (transformational) technological innovation is required.Managing Aerospace Projects brings together ten seminal SAE technical papers that support the vision of a more holistic and integrated approach to highly complex projects.Using the concept of project management levers, Dr. Jimmy Williams, Jr., the editor of this title, expands on the critical importance of correctly deciding on*Organizational strategies*Technology and product strategy*Global portfolio strategy*Project portfolio strategySub-optimized strategies result in and contribute to a portfolio of misdirected projects and organizational dissatisfaction with project management outcomes unrelated to the actual project management process.As an example, ensuring the convergence and readiness of technologies that are critical for the design, development, and assembly of aircraft requires a disciplined and flexible approach for product and technology development.Operating in an environment in which customer needs and supplier capabilities are dynamic requires continual focus on a portfolio of projects, initiatives, and capabilities that result in sustaining competitive advantage and influence.Managing Aerospace Projects stresses the positive impact of project classification and the specific handling and leadership knowledge requirements so that these endeavors are indeed successful. Some comparisons and lessons from the automotive industry are offered.The notion that project management competence and capabilities are embedded in distinct ways of coordinating and combining multiple competencies suggests that failing to recognize the required organizational adaptations could be a major contributor to sub-optimized project management outcomes.

This book covers the latest developments in radar micro-Doppler signatures and non-cooperative recognition of moving targets, for researchers and advanced students of radar systems. Micro-Doppler signatures is a very broad topic with applications in healthcare, security and surveillance. Edited by leading researchers in the field, the book consists of a series of chapters with contributions from different groups of authors who are international experts on their topics. The following topics are covered: multistatic radar micro-Doppler; passive radar approaches for healthcare; sparsity-driven methods for micro-Doppler detection and classification; deep neural networks for radar micro-Doppler signature classification; classification of personnel for ground-based surveillance; multimodal sensing for assisted living using radar; micro-Doppler analysis of ballistic targets; small drones and bird signatures as emerging targets; hardware development and applications of portable FMCW radars; digital-IF CW Doppler radar and its contactless healthcare sensing; L1-norm principal component and discriminant analyses of micro-Doppler signatures for indoor human activity recognition; and micro-Doppler signature extraction and analysis for automotive application. Finally, the editors have written a concluding short chapter that brings together an overview of the field and discusses likely future trends.

Satellite communications (SatCom) plays a vital role in ensuring seamless access to telecommunications services anytime, and is a viable option for delivering telecommunication services in a wide range of sectors such as aeronautical, military, maritime, rescue and disaster relief. It should be an important component of 5G-and-beyond wireless architectures as it can complement terrestrial telecommunication solutions in various scenarios to provide highly reliable and secure connectivity over a wide geographical area. This book explores promising scenarios for 5G SatCom, novel paradigms for hybrid/integrated satellite-terrestrial integration, and emerging technologies for the next generation of SatCom systems. Topics covered include: Role of SatCom in the 5G Era; 5G satellite use cases and scenarios; SDN-enabled networks, NFV-based scenarios and on-board processing for satellite-terrestrial integration; EHF broadband aeronautical SatCom systems; Next-generation NGSO SatCom systems; Diversity combining and handover techniques for MEO satellites; Non-linear countermeasures for multicarrier satellites; SDN demonstrator for multi-beam satellite precoding; Beam-hopping SatCom systems; Optical on-off keying data links for LEO downlink applications; Ultra-high speed data relay systems; On-board interference detection and localization; Advanced random access schemes for SatCom systems; Interference avoidance, mitigation and dynamic spectrum sharing for hybrid satellite-terrestrial systems; and Two-way satellite relaying.

In Space Traffic Control, Stuart Eves makes a deliberate analogy between operations in space and air traffic control. When the early aviation pioneers took to the skies, they did not require permission to take off and land. Over time, and for good reason, a system of standards and regulations was developed to enable safe, reliable international air travel. For similar reasons, we have now reached that juncture in space. This demands urgent action-- both political and technical. Satellites, such as the global positioning system (GPS), form part of the infrastructure that is relied upon worldwide on a daily basis. The loss of such critical international infrastructure would have global consequences. Indeed, near-Earth space currently faces a potential ""tragedy of the commons"" due to an increasing population of debris objects that have been left in orbit around the Earth. These uncontrolled objects could create a cascade of collisions (the so-called Kessler syndrome), rendering low Earth orbit (LEO) largely unusable. Fortunately, it is not yet too late.There are a variety of technical measures, which collectively can be described as ""space traffic control,"" which would maintain the near-Earth orbital regime as a place where humans can conduct vital operations. Space Traffic Control considers the systems and procedures which can provide solutions to the problem of space debris and concludes with recommended approaches.

In this Second Edition, new information and references are integrated into chapters. Emphasis is still on processing, alloying, microstructure, deformation, fracture and properties of major steel types ranging from low-carbon sheet steels, pearlitic rail and wire steels, to quench and tempered medium- and high-carbon martensitic steels. Microstructural aspects of steelmaking, hardenability, tempering, surface hardening, and embrittlement phenomena are updated, and chapters on stainless and tool steels remain in the Second edition. The work is intended to be tutorial and is an essential state-of-the-art reference for anyone that makes, uses, studies and designs with steel.

Synthetic Aperture Radar Imaging Mechanism for Oil Spills delivers the critical tool needed to understand the latest technology in radar imaging of oil spills, particularly microwave radar as a main source to understand analysis and applications in the field of marine pollution. Filling the gap between modern physics quantum theory and applications of radar imaging of oil spills, this reference is packed with technical details associated with the potentiality of synthetic aperture radar (SAR) and the key methods used to extract the value-added information necessary, such as location, size, perimeter and chemical details of the oil slick from SAR measurements. Rounding out with practical simulation trajectory movements of oil spills using radar images, this book brings an effective new source of technology and applications for today's oil and marine pollution engineers.