Research Guides: Counselling: Books

About This Guide

The S R Nathan School of Human Development (NSHD) is a multidisciplinary school dedicated to the applied study of inherent human potential across a broad spectrum of social disciplines. The School’s teaching and research encompass the range of factors influencing the abilities of the individual, the family and the community.

Spotlight

Books

This list of Counselling books is indicative only. More information about your e-textbooks can be found on the Learning Services FAQ pages. . Please click here.

The First Interview by James Morrison
ISBN: 9781462515554
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Physical book
COU501 - Clinical Assessment in Counselling
This trusted practitioner resource and course text is grounded in James Morrison's experience with more than 15,000 mental health patients. Morrison provides a complete framework for interviewing adult patients about their current symptoms, personal and family history, mental status, behavioral risks, and other relevant issues. He offers guidance for selecting the best strategy for any clinical situation, building rapport, overcoming common challenges, and communicating findings. Appendices include a detailed semistructured interview and a self-assessment tool for interviewers, both with permission to photocopy.
Couple, Marriage, and Family Therapy Supervision by Karin Jordan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780826126788
Publication Date: 2015-12-28
COU511 - Clinical Supervision in Counselling & Systemic Therapy

KEY FEATURES: Meets the learning requirements for AAMFT-mandated courses leading to certification as an approved supervisor Covers the fundamentals of supervision in the systemic context that lies at the heart of marriage and family therapy. It covers supervision in the major approaches to MFT, including cognitive-behavioral, brief, narrative, structural, and other orientations. It provides an illustrative case study across all supervision models to demonstrate the uniqueness and similarities of each approach Includes coverage of important populations and settings for MFT, such as medical and postdisaster.
Counseling and Psychotherapy with Children and Adolescents by H. Thompson Prout; Alicia L. Fedewa
ISBN: 9781118772683
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Physical book
COU551 - Psychotherapy with Children and Adolescents
A comprehensive, theory-based approach to working with young clients in both school and clinical settings Counseling and Psychotherapy with Children and Adolescents, Fifth Edition provides mental health professionals and students with state-of-the-art theory and practical guidance for major contemporary psychotherapeutic schools of thought. Children and adolescents are not just small adults; they have their own needs, requirements, and desires, on top of the issues presented by still-developing brains and limited life perspective.
Crisis Intervention Strategies by Richard K. James; Burl E. Gilliland
ISBN: 9781305271470
Publication Date: 2016-02-08
Physical book
COU559 - Crisis Intervention

This authoritative, best-selling text presents the latest skills and techniques for handling crisis situations. The authors' task model clearly illustrates and elucidates the process of dealing with people in crisis, from defining the problem to obtaining commitment. Using this model, the authors build specific strategies for handling a myriad of different crisis situations, accompanied in many cases with the dialogue that a practitioner might use when working with the individual in crisis. This book puts you on the front lines with the crisis worker throughout the chapters, and then illuminates the techniques and strategies the worker used.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, the Profession of Systemic Family Therapy by Karen S. Wampler (Editor-In-Chief); Richard B. Miller (Associate Editor); Ryan B. Seedall (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 1119702178
Publication Date: 2020-09-23
COU562 - Advanced Couple and Family Therapy

This first volume of the The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy includes extensive work on the theory, practice, research, and policy foundations of the profession of CMFT and its roles in an integrated health care system. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Systemic Family Therapy with Children and Adolescents by Karen S. Wampler (Editor-In-Chief); Lenore M. McWey (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781119702207
Publication Date: 2020-06-10
COU562 - Advanced Couple and Family Therapy

Volume II of The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy presents established and emerging models of relational treatment of children and young people. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Systemic Family Therapy with Couples by Adrian J. Blow (Associate Editor); Karen S. Wampler (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9781119702146
Publication Date: 2020-09-23
COU562 - Advanced Couple and Family Therapy

Volume III focuses on therapy with couples. Information on the effectiveness of relational treatment is included along with consideration of the most appropriate modality for treatment. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy, Systemic Family Therapy and Global Health Issues by Karen S. Wampler (Editor-In-Chief); Mudita Rastogi (Associate Editor); Reenee Singh (Associate Editor)
ISBN: 9781119702238
Publication Date: 2020-09-22
COU562 - Advanced Couple and Family Therapy

Volume IV of The Handbook of Systemic Family Therapy considers family-level interventions for issues of global public health. Information on the effectiveness of relational treatment is included along with consideration of the most appropriate modality for treatment. Developed in partnership with the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy (AAMFT), it will appeal to clinicians, such as couple, marital, and family therapists, counselors, psychologists, social workers, and psychiatrists. It will also benefit researchers, educators, and graduate students involved in CMFT.
The Person of the Therapist Training Model by Harry J. Aponte (Editor); Karni Kissil (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317514770
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
COU568 - CFT Supervision For Practice
COU578 - Special Topics in Systemic Therapy: Person-of-the-Therapist (POTT)

This book presents a model that prepares therapists to make active and purposeful use of who they are, personally and professionally, in all aspects of the therapeutic process--relationship, assessment, and intervention. The authors take a process that seems vague and elusive, the self-of-the-therapist work, and provide a step-by-step description of how to conceptualize structure, and implement a training program designed to facilitate the creation of effective therapists, who are skilled at using their whole selves in their encounters with clients.
Helping Skills by Clara E. Hill
ISBN: 9781433816789
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Physical book
COU498 - Laboratory on Basic Counselling Skills

Hill's three-stage model of helping clients involves exploration, insight, and action. The exploration stage helps clients explore their thoughts and feelings. The insight stage helps clients understand the reasons for their thoughts and feelings. The action stage helps clients make desired changes in their lives. Hill also challenges students to think about and discuss the process of becoming helpers and their reasons for doing so.
ACT Made Simple by Russ Harris
ISBN: 9781684033010
Publication Date: 2019-05-01
Physical book
COU555 - Behaviour Theory

This book aims to take the complex theory and practice of ACT and make it accessible and enjoyable for therapists and clients. This second edition includes new information and chapters on self-compassion, flexible perspective-taking, working with trauma, and more.
Theory and Practice of Group Psychotherapy by Irvin D. Yalom; Molyn Leszcz
ISBN: 9780465092840
Publication Date: 2005-07-06
COU567 Theory and Practice of Group Counselling

Dive into this educational and entertaining work on group psychotherapy and see firsthand how it has been helping patients learn and grow for years. In this completely revised and updated fifth edition, Dr. Yalom and his collaborator Dr. Molyn Leszcz expand the book to include the most recent developments in the field, drawing on nearly a decade of new research as well as their broad clinical wisdom and expertise. New topics include online therapy, specialized groups, ethnocultural diversity, trauma, and managed care.
Medical Family Therapy and Integrated Care by Susan H. McDaniel; William J. Doherty; Jeri Hepworth
ISBN: 9781433815188
Publication Date: 2013-08-15
COU572 - Medical Family Therapy

In that book, the authors sought to bridge the gap between mental and physical health by introducing a systems-based approach that unites physicians, psychologists, family therapists, social workers, nurses, counselors, and therapists of all theoretical orientations in working with families across a wide range of professional settings. The authors describe the impact of recent economic and structural changes in health care on the role of the medical family therapist. , how medical and mental health providers can learn to speak the same language, whether they collaborate in outpatient therapy, co-location settings, community health centers, or fully integrated health systems.
Medical Family Therapy by Jennifer Hodgson (Editor); Angela Lamson (Editor); Tai Mendenhall (Editor); D. Russell Crane (Editor)
ISBN: 9783319034812
Publication Date: 2014-04-01
COU572 - Medical Family Therapy

With its sophisticated insights into the current state - and the future - of healthcare reform, this book is essential reading for researchers and practitioners in the fields of clinical psychology, counseling, family therapy, healthcare policy, psychiatric nursing, psychiatry, public health, and social work.

This list of Counselling books is indicative only. More books may be found in our Library Databases A-Z. Please click here.

101 More Interventions in Family Therapy by Thorana S. Nelson; Terry S. Trepper
ISBN: 9781315810072
Publication Date: 2014-07-16
Features contributions by a diverse group of well-known leaders in the field, “therapists on the street,” and faculty of family therapy training programs. Each clinician presents a creative and useful intervention beginning with a complete description of the method, followed by the specific indications and contraindications for its application, and concludes with a particular case illustration.
Boundary Issues in Counseling by Barbara Herlihy; Gerald Corey
ISBN: 9781119026365
Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Fully revised in accordance with the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and the current ethical codes of other mental health organizations, Boundary Issues in Counseling reflects the helping profession's most up-to-date thinking on this topic and offers a wide range of opinions and perspectives. Ethics experts Barbara Herlihy and Gerald Corey, along with 40 guest contributors, share their thoughts on the ethical issues surrounding sexual dual relationships; multiculturalism and social justice; counselor education, supervision, and consultation; group counseling; couples and family counseling; and school counseling.
Buddhist-Christian Dialogue, U. S. Religious Freedom Law, and Womanist Public Theology for Transgender Spiritual Care by Pamela Ayo Yetunde
ISBN: 9783030425593
Publication Date: 2020-05-01
This book, written with hospital spiritual care providers in mind, investigates how to expand the field and scope of compassion within the hospital context, for the spiritual care and safety of transgender patients. Written by a law-educated pastoral counselor, it advocates for chaplain legal literacy, and explains the consequences of spiritual care providers not knowing more about the law. It explores the current political and legal situation transgender hospital patients find themselves in, and especially how these new policies put transgender people at risk when they are in a hospital setting. Pamela Ayo Yetunde offers Buddhist-Christian activist interreligious dialogue methods to promote deeper understanding of how spiritual practices can cultivate empathy for transgender patients.
Cognitive Behavior Therapies by Ann Vernon (Editor); Kristene Anne Doyle (Editor)
ISBN: 1119375398
Publication Date: 2017-09-08
This comprehensive book showcases different approaches to cognitive behavior therapy (CBT) and focuses on the implementation of these various theories in real-world practice. Following an overview of cognitive therapy, practitioners and scholars discuss behavior therapy, cognitive therapy, rational emotive behavior therapy, multimodal therapy, acceptance and commitment therapy, dialectical behavior therapy, and mindfulness.
Cognitive Science as an Integrative Framework in Counselling Psychology and Psychotherapy by Tony Ward; Arnaud Plagnol
ISBN: 9783030258221
Publication Date: 2019-09-02
This book proposes a novel method of combining the current approaches to counselling and psychotherapy into one coherent framework. The authors argue that the cognitive behavioural tradition (largely focused on thought patterns) and the psychodynamic approach (centred on the client's experience and relationships), can be successfully integrated with insights from cognitive neuroscience, to form a fruitful synthesis.
Counseling Around the World by Thomas H. Hohenshil (Editor); Norman E. Amundson (Editor); Spencer G. Niles (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119026419
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
This fascinating book provides a global exchange of information about counseling activities and services; counselor training; and existing professional practices, beliefs, and values. Native counselors and leading experts from 40 countries discuss the opportunities for growth in their countries and the challenges they face. After an introductory section that discusses global diversity themes and issues, chapters focus on key countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, North America, Oceania, and South and Central America.
Counseling Older Adults by John Blando
ISBN: 9780203893401
Publication Date: 2014-04-08
Counseling older adults is not equivalent to counseling the general population, and specialized skills and knowledge, as well as sensitivity to the contexts in which older adults live, are essential in working successfully with this population. This text provides an introduction to gerontological counseling, integrating the basic skills of working with older adults with theories of counseling and aging. Specific counseling issues discussed include mental health counseling, career counseling, rehabilitation counseling, and family counseling.
Counseling Older People by Charlene M. Kampfe
ISBN: 1119027098
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
This book provides insight into the primary issues faced by older adults; the services and benefits available to them; and the knowledge base, techniques, and skills necessary to work effectively in a therapeutic relationship. Dr. Kampfe offers empirically and anecdotally based strategies and interventions for dealing with clients' personal concerns and describes ways counselors can advocate for older people on a systemic level. Individual and group exercises are incorporated throughout the book to enhance its practicality.
COUNSELLING OLDER ADULTS An Asian Perspective: Issues, Principles and an Evidence-based Model by Helen Ko, EdD
ISBN: 9789811441844
Publication Date: 2012
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the issues in later years and presents an evidence-based, indigenous model for counselling older persons. It also offers readers multifarious insights into the principles, practical strategies and framework for counselling seniors. She advances an Asian perspective of gerontological counselling that is set in the socio-cultural, economic and political environments of Asia, in particular, the Singaporean society. Counselling Older Adults, now in its second edition, seeks to engender in healthcare and social service professionals and caregivers a deeper understanding of older persons, so as to counsel them more effectively. In addition, this easy-to-read book provides managers and supervisors of older workers with numerous useful tips for daily applications.
Couples in Conflict by Ronald W. Richardson
ISBN: 9781451417746
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Couples in Conflict describes the nature of the emotional processes leading to difficulties and how a minister/ counselor can be a resource to help couples in conflict. The minister/counselor will be able to help them improve their lives personally, as well as their relationship and family life. By extension, couples will also develop skills that will improve their work life and their life in community. The book provides practical and specific approaches to helping these couples and the issues that a minister must deal with in order to be useful to them.
Developing a Model of Islamic Psychology and Psychotherapy by Abdallah Rothman
ISBN: 9781003104377
Publication Date: 2021-07-29
This book explores psychology from an Islamic paradigm and demonstrates how Islamic understandings of human nature, the self, and the soul can inform an Islamic psychotherapy. Drawing on a qualitative, grounded theory analysis of interviews with Islamic scholars and clinicians, this unique volume distils complex religious concepts to reconcile Islamic theology with contemporary notions of psychology. Chapters offer nuanced explanations of relevant Islamic tradition and theological sources, consider how this relates to Western notions of psychotherapy and common misconceptions, and draw uniquely on first-hand data to develop a new theory of Islamic psychology.
Ethics and Professional Issues in Couple and Family Therapy by Megan J. Murphy (Editor); Lorna Hecker (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317240457
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
This new edition addresses the 2015 AAMFT Code of Ethics as well as other professional organizations' codes of ethics and includes three new chapters: one on in-home family therapy, a common method of providing therapy to clients, particularly those involved with child protective services; one chapter on HIPAA and HITECH Regulations that practicing therapists need to know; and one chapter on professional issues, in which topics such as advertising, professional identity, supervision, and research ethics are addressed. This book is intended as a training text for students studying to be marriage and family therapist.
Ethics in Counseling & Psychotherapy:Standards, research and emerging issues by Elizabeth Welfel
ISBN: 9781473736870
The book's ten-step model for ethical decision making guides you as you work through and analyze complicated ethics cases and challenging dilemmas. Coverage includes legal research and the professional literature of major topics in ethics (such as consent, confidentiality, and multiple relationships) and in applied settings (such as community mental health, private practice, schools, and teaching/research). Among other changes, the sixth edition integrates the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and includes updated discussions of technology and ethics, as well as culturally competent ethical practice.
Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling by Kenneth S. Pope; Melba J. T. Vasquez
ISBN: 0787994006
Publication Date: 2007-03-09
The third edition of Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling: A Practical Guide provides guidance on the ethical dilemmas and responsibilities that confront psychotherapists, counselors, and other mental health professionals in their day-to-day practices. The text is based to conform to the new 2002 the American Psychological Association (APA) Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct.
Grief Counseling and Grief Therapy by J. William Worden
ISBN: 0826134742
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Encompassing new content on the treatment of grief, loss, and bereavement, the updated and revised fifth edition of this gold-standard text continues to deliver the most up-to-date research and practical information for upper-level students and practitioners alike. The fifth edition includes updates to the author's Tasks and Mediators of Mourning, new case studies, and valuable Instructor Resources. The text highlights recent initiatives to extend care to the bereaved and fosters the knowledge and skills required for effective intervention and even preventative treatment.
The Grieving Child in the Classroom by Sue Trace Lawrence
ISBN: 9780429617102
Publication Date: 2019-11-27
This book integrates the latest research on children's bereavement and adapts it for use in the classroom. Chapters tackle the neurological, cognitive, emotional, and social effects of childhood grief and demonstrate the ways in which those reactions can manifest in the classroom. By recognizing individual differences in coping styles and considering variables such as developmental stage, nature of the loss, and availability of support, teachers and staff can become better equipped to respond to the bereaved child's needs. The book incorporates theoretical explanations of grief responses as well as practical suggestions for supporting bereaved children in real-world settings. Whether the loss affects one child or the entire student body, educators can turn to this comprehensive guidebook for ways to support grieving students in their classrooms.
Loss, Grief, and Attachment in Life Transitions by Jakob van Wielink; Leo Wilhelm; Denise van Geelen-Merks
ISBN: 9780429277757
Publication Date: 2019-07-23
This book gives readers an attachment-informed grief counseling framework and a new way of understanding non-death loss and its treatment. Loss and grief are viewed through a wide-angle lens with relevance to the whole of human life, including the important area of career counseling and occupational consultation. The book is founded on the key themes of the Transition Cycle: welcome and contact, attachment and bonding, intimacy and sexuality, seperation and loss, grief and meaning reconstruction. Rich in case material related to loss and change, the book provides the tools for adopting a highly personalized approach to working with clients facing a range of life transitions. This book is a highly relevant and practical volume for grief counselors and other mental health professionals looking to incorporate attachment theory into their clinical practice.
The Person of the Therapist Training Model by Harry J. Aponte (Editor); Karni Kissil (Editor)
ISBN: 1317514785
Publication Date: 2016-01-08
The Person of the Therapist Training Model presents a model that prepares therapists to make active and purposeful use of who they are, personally and professionally, in all aspects of the therapeutic process--relationship, assessment and intervention. The authors take a process that seems vague and elusive, the self-of-the-therapist work, and provide a step-by-step description of how to conceptualize, structure, and implement a training program designed to facilitate the creation of effective therapists, who are skilled at using their whole selves in their encounters with clients.
The Resilient Practitioner by Thomas M. Skovholt; Michelle J. Trotter-Mathison
ISBN: 0415989388
Publication Date: 2010-12-17
Therapists and other helping professionals, such as teachers, doctors and nurses, social workers, and clergy, work in highly demanding fields and can suffer from burnout, compassion fatigue, and secondary stress. This happens when they give more attention to their clients' well being than their own. Both students and practitioners in these fields will find this book an essential guide to striking an optimal balance between self-care and other-care. The authors describe the joys and hazards of the work, the long road from novice to senior practitioner, the essence of burnout, ways to maintain the professional and personal self, methods experts use to maintain vitality, and a self-care action plan.
Schema Therapy with Couples by Chiara Simeone-DiFrancesco; Eckhard Roediger; Bruce A. Stevens
ISBN: 9781118972953
Publication Date: 2015-05-26
Schema Therapy for Couples represents the first practitioner guide to detail effective Schema Therapy techniques in couple and relationship therapy. Shows how the distinctive features of ST make it ideal for addressing the cognitive and emotion-focused problems typical in couple relationships Presents and integrates a series of innovative tools and interventions such as Schema Therapy with Needs versus Wants, Mode Cycle Clash Cards, limited re-parenting visualization, and chair work Authored by an international team of experts in couples therapy and Schema Therapy
Superhero Grief by Jill A. Harrington (Editor); Robert A. Neimeyer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429056666
Publication Date: 2020-12-29
This book uses modern superhero narratives to teach the principles of grief theories and concepts and provide practical ideas for promoting healing. Chapters offer clinical strategies, approaches, and interventions, including strategies based in expressive arts and complementary therapies. Leading researchers, clinicians, and professionals address major topics in death, dying, and bereavement, using superhero narratives to explore loss in the context of bereavement and to promote a contextual view of issues and relationship types that can improve coping skills. This volume provides support and psychoeducation to students, clinicians, educators, researchers, and the bereaved while contributing significantly to the literature on the intersection of death, grief, and trauma.

The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by Carla Willig (Editor); Wendy Stainton Rogers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781473925212
Publication Date: 2017-08-08
The Second Edition of The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies, and research issues in psychology. Qualitative research in psychology has been transformed since the first edition's publication. Responding to this evolving field, existing chapters have been updated while three new chapters have been added on Thematic Analysis, Interpretation, and Netnography.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology by Carla Willig (Editor); Wendy Stainton Rogers (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412907811
Publication Date: 2013-06-21
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies and research issues in psychology, combining ′how-to-do-it′ summaries with an examination of historical and theoretical foundations. Examples from recent research are used to illustrate how each method has been applied, the data analysed and insights gained.
Practitioner Research in Counselling by John McLeod
ISBN: 9780761957638
Publication Date: 1999-09-20
This practical, informative and encouraging guide to doing research in counselling and the helping professions generally has been written with practitioners firmly in mind. The book is a comprehensive yet accessible introduction which covers all major aspects of research and guides the reader through the essential processes involved, from setting up and conducting a study, to analyzing data and evaluating findings. In addition, the author provides guidelines for accessing research information and resources.
Case Study Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy by John McLeod
ISBN: 9781849208055
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Case-based knowledge forms an essential element of the evidence base for counselling and psychotherapy practice. This book provides the reader with a unique introduction to the conceptual and practical tools required to conduct high quality case study research that is grounded in their own therapy practice or training. Drawing on real-life cases at the heart of counselling and psychotherapy practice, John McLeod makes complex debates and concepts engaging and accessible for the trainees and practitioners at all levels, and from all theoretical orientations.
Qualitative Research in Counselling and Psychotherapy by John McLeod
ISBN: 9780761955061
Publication Date: 2000-12-28
Qualitative methods are particularly suited to answering the kinds of questions that counsellors and psychotherapists need to ask about their practice. Qualitative Research Methods in Counselling and Psychotherapy has therefore been written to help researchers find their way through the range of methodologies and techniques available to them. Leading expert, and best selling author John McLeod takes the reader through each stage of the research process, explaining techniques for gathering data, writing up the study and evaluating the findings.
Introducing Counselling and Psychotherapy Research by Terry Hanley; Clare Lennie; William West
ISBN: 1446272001
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Introducing Counselling and Psychotherapy Research provides an accessible yet thorough overview of the place that research has in the world of therapy. It introduces the reader to the language of research and helps students to identify themselves as researchers by supporting the development of their research literacy and awareness.
Qualitative exploration through oral interviews : understanding tertiary trauma in counseling supervisors by Eric Jeff
ISBN: 9781473997196
Publication Date: 2017
This case study provides an account of a 2-year-long PhD project that sought to take a term used by other professions and adapt it to identify a phenomenon that I believed existed among counseling supervisors. The case sheds light on particular challenges in phenomenological research and using oral interviews to gather data, and the process of analyzing a collective perception of a phenomenon. Thinking about such challenges strengthens the understanding and purpose of phenomenological research, and being able to allow a qualitative research design to grow and change throughout the study.

Journals

Main

General Counselling Resources

This list of Counselling journals is indicative only. Please click on the title to access the resource.

More journals may be found in our Library Databases A-Z. Please click here.

ABI/ INFORM

EBSCO Academic Search Premier

EBSCO Education Source

EBSCO Sociology Source Ultimate

Professional Counsellor

EBSCOhost Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

Counselling Psychology Review by British Psychological Society

ScienceDirect Social Sciences Collection

Arts in Psychotherapy

SAGE Premier

T&F Humanities & Social Sciences

ProQuest Education Collection

The Australian Journal of Rehabilitation Counselling

Other Journals

International Journal for the Advancement of Counselling

Databases

Alkem Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Alkem Digital Library offers you a curated ebook collection whereby titles will be added over time for your online and offline access. To download and read the ebook offline, you are required to install Adobe Digital Edition. It allows you to borrow the ebook for 3 days. See more info here.
APA PsycTests (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
PsycTESTS is a social sciences researcher’s toolkit. It indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Each record in the database links to at least one additional resource describing the development, review or use of the research instrument. It may also include links to peer-reviewed literature, technical reports or dissertations. When available, PsycTESTS also includes supporting documentation such as instructions, answer sheets and scoring guides. Content includes research instruments available as PDF downloads or multimedia files; select measurements available in more than 40 languages. Coverage spanning more than 100 years, with a strong emphasis on current research instruments.
Counseling and Therapy in Video Library (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
DSM-5 Library provides full-text access to the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, DSM-5 Clinical Cases and DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formation Interview, etc. Published by the American Psychiatric Association (APA), the collections cover all categories of mental health disorders for both adults and children, including anxiety disorders, bipolar and related disorders, depressive disorders, feeding and eating disorders, obsessive-compulsive and related disorders, and personality disorders.

Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5)
Diagnostic And Statistical Manual Of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR)
DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
DSM-5 Clinical Cases
Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video platform that provides access to documentaries, classics and independent films. Notable content includes The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Media Education Foundation and 297 videos from Psychotherapy.net. The subscription covers 63 packages such as Anthropology, Business Case Studies, Computer Science & Technology, Education Documentary, Engineering, Film Studies, Law & Criminal Justice, Mental Health, Movies, Political Science, Psychology and World Cinema.

Videatives This link opens in a new window
Videatives offers a streaming video service, consulting services, and conferences to the early childhood education and child development community. It connects to over 330 video clips with short introductions.

For the complete list of databases, go to Databases A-Z

NLB eResources

For additional databases, go to NLB eResources

Links beyond SUSS

.

1. Singapore Association for Counselling
https://sacsingapore.org/covid-19-resources/resources/

2. MindSG
https://www.healthhub.sg/programmes/186/MindSG/Discover

3. SAGE Counselling Centre
https://www.sagecc.org.sg/

Note:

1. Please bookmark the url in your browser as a quick link.

2. These free resources are not SUSS Library's subscriptions. Please direct your enquiries to the respective institutions if you require clarification on the use of their resources.

(Last updated: 24 Feb 2023)

Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF)

1. Counselling - Family Assist /
https://familyassist.msf.gov.sg/content/resources/counselling/

2. Family Counselling
https://www.msf.gov.sg/FAMatFSC/Pages/Family-Counselling.aspx

3. Counselling Services for Children
https://familyassist.msf.gov.sg/content/resources/counselling/counselling-services-for-children/

4. Marriage Counselling
https://www.msf.gov.sg/policies/Marriages/Pages/Marriage-Counselling.aspx

5. Online Counselling
https://familyassist.msf.gov.sg/content/resources/programmes/online-counselling/

6. MSF Publication : What Is Mandatory Counselling
https://www.msf.gov.sg/publications/Pages/What-is-Mandatory-Counselling.aspx

7. List Of Service Providers
https://www.msf.gov.sg/FAMatFSC/Pages/List-of-Service-Providers.aspx

National Council of Social Service (NCSS)

1. NCSS Publications
https://www.ncss.gov.sg/press-room/publications

Agency for Integrated Care (AIC)
1. Assessment And Counselling For Dementia
https://www.aic.sg/body-mind/dementia-assessment-counselling

Note:

1. Please bookmark the url in your browser as a quick link.

2. These free resources are not SUSS Library's subscriptions. Please direct your enquiries to the respective institutions if you require clarification on the use of their resources.

(Last updated: 24 Feb 2023)

1. International Association for Counselling
https://www.iac-irtac.org/

2. American counselling Association
https://www.counseling.org/

3. Australian Counselling Association
https://www.theaca.net.au/

4. British Association for Counselling and Psychotherapy
https://www.bacp.co.uk/

5. Southeast Asia Mental Health and Counselling Association (SAMHCA)
https://www.samhca.org/

Note:

1. Please bookmark the url in your browser as a quick link.

2. These free resources are not SUSS Library's subscriptions. Please direct your enquiries to the respective institutions if you require clarification on the use of their resources.

(Last updated: 24 Feb 2023)