Counselling

Features contributions by a diverse group of well-known leaders in the field, “therapists on the street,” and faculty of family therapy training programs. Each clinician presents a creative and useful intervention beginning with a complete description of the method, followed by the specific indications and contraindications for its application, and concludes with a particular case illustration.

Fully revised in accordance with the 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and the current ethical codes of other mental health organizations, Boundary Issues in Counseling reflects the helping profession's most up-to-date thinking on this topic and offers a wide range of opinions and perspectives. Ethics experts Barbara Herlihy and Gerald Corey, along with 40 guest contributors, share their thoughts on the ethical issues surrounding sexual dual relationships; multiculturalism and social justice; counselor education, supervision, and consultation; group counseling; couples and family counseling; and school counseling.

This book, written with hospital spiritual care providers in mind, investigates how to expand the field and scope of compassion within the hospital context, for the spiritual care and safety of transgender patients.  Written by a law-educated pastoral counselor, it advocates for chaplain legal literacy, and explains the consequences of spiritual care providers not knowing more about the law. It explores the current political and legal situation transgender hospital patients find themselves in, and especially how these new policies put transgender people at risk when they are in a hospital setting. Pamela Ayo Yetunde offers Buddhist-Christian activist interreligious dialogue methods to promote deeper understanding of how spiritual practices can cultivate empathy for transgender patients.

This comprehensive book showcases different approaches to cognitive behavior therapy (CBT) and focuses on the implementation of these various theories in real-world practice. Following an overview of cognitive therapy, practitioners and scholars discuss behavior therapy, cognitive therapy, rational emotive behavior therapy, multimodal therapy, acceptance and commitment therapy, dialectical behavior therapy, and mindfulness.

This book proposes a novel method of combining the current approaches to counselling and psychotherapy into one coherent framework. The authors argue that the cognitive behavioural tradition (largely focused on thought patterns) and the psychodynamic approach (centred on the client's experience and relationships), can be successfully integrated with insights from cognitive neuroscience, to form a fruitful synthesis.

This fascinating book provides a global exchange of information about counseling activities and services; counselor training; and existing professional practices, beliefs, and values. Native counselors and leading experts from 40 countries discuss the opportunities for growth in their countries and the challenges they face. After an introductory section that discusses global diversity themes and issues, chapters focus on key countries in Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, North America, Oceania, and South and Central America.

Counseling older adults is not equivalent to counseling the general population, and specialized skills and knowledge, as well as sensitivity to the contexts in which older adults live, are essential in working successfully with this population. This text provides an introduction to gerontological counseling, integrating the basic skills of working with older adults with theories of counseling and aging. Specific counseling issues discussed include mental health counseling, career counseling, rehabilitation counseling, and family counseling.

This book provides insight into the primary issues faced by older adults; the services and benefits available to them; and the knowledge base, techniques, and skills necessary to work effectively in a therapeutic relationship. Dr. Kampfe offers empirically and anecdotally based strategies and interventions for dealing with clients' personal concerns and describes ways counselors can advocate for older people on a systemic level. Individual and group exercises are incorporated throughout the book to enhance its practicality.

This book provides a comprehensive overview of the issues in later years and presents an evidence-based, indigenous model for counselling older persons. It also offers readers multifarious insights into the principles, practical strategies and framework for counselling seniors. She advances an Asian perspective of gerontological counselling that is set in the socio-cultural, economic and political environments of Asia, in particular, the Singaporean society. Counselling Older Adults, now in its second edition, seeks to engender in healthcare and social service professionals and caregivers a deeper understanding of older persons, so as to counsel them more effectively. In addition, this easy-to-read book provides managers and supervisors of older workers with numerous useful tips for daily applications.

Couples in Conflict describes the nature of the emotional processes leading to difficulties and how a minister/ counselor can be a resource to help couples in conflict. The minister/counselor will be able to help them improve their lives personally, as well as their relationship and family life. By extension, couples will also develop skills that will improve their work life and their life in community. The book provides practical and specific approaches to helping these couples and the issues that a minister must deal with in order to be useful to them.

This book explores psychology from an Islamic paradigm and demonstrates how Islamic understandings of human nature, the self, and the soul can inform an Islamic psychotherapy. Drawing on a qualitative, grounded theory analysis of interviews with Islamic scholars and clinicians, this unique volume distils complex religious concepts to reconcile Islamic theology with contemporary notions of psychology. Chapters offer nuanced explanations of relevant Islamic tradition and theological sources, consider how this relates to Western notions of psychotherapy and common misconceptions, and draw uniquely on first-hand data to develop a new theory of Islamic psychology.

This new edition addresses the 2015 AAMFT Code of Ethics as well as other professional organizations' codes of ethics and includes three new chapters: one on in-home family therapy, a common method of providing therapy to clients, particularly those involved with child protective services; one chapter on HIPAA and HITECH Regulations that practicing therapists need to know; and one chapter on professional issues, in which topics such as advertising, professional identity, supervision, and research ethics are addressed. This book is intended as a training text for students studying to be marriage and family therapist.

The book's ten-step model for ethical decision making guides you as you work through and analyze complicated ethics cases and challenging dilemmas. Coverage includes legal research and the professional literature of major topics in ethics (such as consent, confidentiality, and multiple relationships) and in applied settings (such as community mental health, private practice, schools, and teaching/research). Among other changes, the sixth edition integrates the new 2014 ACA Code of Ethics and includes updated discussions of technology and ethics, as well as culturally competent ethical practice.

The third edition of Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling: A Practical Guide provides guidance on the ethical dilemmas and responsibilities that confront psychotherapists, counselors, and other mental health professionals in their day-to-day practices. The text is based to conform to the new 2002 the American Psychological Association (APA) Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct.

Encompassing new content on the treatment of grief, loss, and bereavement, the updated and revised fifth edition of this gold-standard text continues to deliver the most up-to-date research and practical information for upper-level students and practitioners alike. The fifth edition includes updates to the author's Tasks and Mediators of Mourning, new case studies, and valuable Instructor Resources. The text highlights recent initiatives to extend care to the bereaved and fosters the knowledge and skills required for effective intervention and even preventative treatment.

This book integrates the latest research on children's bereavement and adapts it for use in the classroom. Chapters tackle the neurological, cognitive, emotional, and social effects of childhood grief and demonstrate the ways in which those reactions can manifest in the classroom. By recognizing individual differences in coping styles and considering variables such as developmental stage, nature of the loss, and availability of support, teachers and staff can become better equipped to respond to the bereaved child's needs. The book incorporates theoretical explanations of grief responses as well as practical suggestions for supporting bereaved children in real-world settings. Whether the loss affects one child or the entire student body, educators can turn to this comprehensive guidebook for ways to support grieving students in their classrooms.

This book gives readers an attachment-informed grief counseling framework and a new way of understanding non-death loss and its treatment. Loss and grief are viewed through a wide-angle lens with relevance to the whole of human life, including the important area of career counseling and occupational consultation. The book is founded on the key themes of the Transition Cycle: welcome and contact, attachment and bonding, intimacy and sexuality, seperation and loss, grief and meaning reconstruction. Rich in case material related to loss and change, the book provides the tools for adopting a highly personalized approach to working with clients facing a range of life transitions. This book is a highly relevant and practical volume for grief counselors and other mental health professionals looking to incorporate attachment theory into their clinical practice.

The Person of the Therapist Training Model presents a model that prepares therapists to make active and purposeful use of who they are, personally and professionally, in all aspects of the therapeutic process--relationship, assessment and intervention. The authors take a process that seems vague and elusive, the self-of-the-therapist work, and provide a step-by-step description of how to conceptualize, structure, and implement a training program designed to facilitate the creation of effective therapists, who are skilled at using their whole selves in their encounters with clients.

Therapists and other helping professionals, such as teachers, doctors and nurses, social workers, and clergy, work in highly demanding fields and can suffer from burnout, compassion fatigue, and secondary stress. This happens when they give more attention to their clients' well being than their own. Both students and practitioners in these fields will find this book an essential guide to striking an optimal balance between self-care and other-care. The authors describe the joys and hazards of the work, the long road from novice to senior practitioner, the essence of burnout, ways to maintain the professional and personal self, methods experts use to maintain vitality, and a self-care action plan.

Schema Therapy for Couples represents the first practitioner guide to detail effective Schema Therapy techniques in couple and relationship therapy. Shows how the distinctive features of ST make it ideal for addressing the cognitive and emotion-focused problems typical in couple relationships Presents and integrates a series of innovative tools and interventions such as Schema Therapy with Needs versus Wants, Mode Cycle Clash Cards, limited re-parenting visualization, and chair work Authored by an international team of experts in couples therapy and Schema Therapy

This book uses modern superhero narratives to teach the principles of grief theories and concepts and provide practical ideas for promoting healing. Chapters offer clinical strategies, approaches, and interventions, including strategies based in expressive arts and complementary therapies. Leading researchers, clinicians, and professionals address major topics in death, dying, and bereavement, using superhero narratives to explore loss in the context of bereavement and to promote a contextual view of issues and relationship types that can improve coping skills. This volume provides support and psychoeducation to students, clinicians, educators, researchers, and the bereaved while contributing significantly to the literature on the intersection of death, grief, and trauma.

The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research in Psychology provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies and research issues in psychology, combining ′how-to-do-it′ summaries with an examination of historical and theoretical foundations. Examples from recent research are used to illustrate how each method has been applied, the data analysed and insights gained.

This practical, informative and encouraging guide to doing research in counselling and the helping professions generally has been written with practitioners firmly in mind. The book is a comprehensive yet accessible introduction which covers all major aspects of research and guides the reader through the essential processes involved, from setting up and conducting a study, to analyzing data and evaluating findings. In addition, the author provides guidelines for accessing research information and resources.

Case-based knowledge forms an essential element of the evidence base for counselling and psychotherapy practice. This book provides the reader with a unique introduction to the conceptual and practical tools required to conduct high quality case study research that is grounded in their own therapy practice or training. Drawing on real-life cases at the heart of counselling and psychotherapy practice, John McLeod makes complex debates and concepts engaging and accessible for the trainees and practitioners at all levels, and from all theoretical orientations.

Qualitative methods are particularly suited to answering the kinds of questions that counsellors and psychotherapists need to ask about their practice. Qualitative Research Methods in Counselling and Psychotherapy has therefore been written to help researchers find their way through the range of methodologies and techniques available to them. Leading expert, and best selling author John McLeod takes the reader through each stage of the research process, explaining techniques for gathering data, writing up the study and evaluating the findings.

Introducing Counselling and Psychotherapy Research provides an accessible yet thorough overview of the place that research has in the world of therapy. It introduces the reader to the language of research and helps students to identify themselves as researchers by supporting the development of their research literacy and awareness.