Research Guides: Sociology: Books

About this guide

Welcome to our Sociology Research Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at SUSS Library and beyond for researchers in Sociology. Use the tabs on the left to find articles, books, background information and more.

Here are some examples of keywords and phrases which can be used when searching for sociology resources in SUSS Library

society
social structure
social culture
social class
inequality
social issues
social change
social interaction
social institutions
accepted norms
social stratification
gender and society
race and society
ethnicity and society
social movements
globalisation
social theory
social studies
society and economies
societal taboos
society and the internet

Books

Spotlight on eBooks

The Sociological Imagination
ISBN: 1282564099
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The Sociological Imagination, in which he set forth his views on how social science should be pursued.
Sociology and Social Policy : Essays on Community, Economy, and Society by Herbert J. Gans
ISBN: 0231545096
Publication Date: 2018-08-06
Sociology and Social Policy is replete with insights on a wide range of topics that not only engage sociologists and other social scientists, but the general public as well.
Angles Of Vision: How To Understand Social Problems by Leonard Beeghley
ISBN: 9780367314521
Publication Date: 2019-08-19
Angles of Vision is a compact text that provides students with basic information about social problems and teaches them a strategy for understanding these issues.
Broken cities : a historical sociology of ruins by Martin Devecka
ISBN: 1421438429
Publication Date: 2020-09-01
In Broken Cities, Devecka offers a wide-ranging comparative study of ruination, the process by which monuments, architectural sites, and urban centers decay into ruin over time.
Sociological Theory, Methods, and Perspectives by Joseph H. Michalski
ISBN: 1536135151
Publication Date: 2018-04-27
The current book contributes to the complicated discussion of knowledge construction by demonstrating how social scientific theories of diverse subject matter in sociology, criminology, and psychology can be contextualized and operationalized from distinct paradigms.
Advances in sociology research. Volume 22 by Jared A. Jaworski
ISBN: 1536122289
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Highlights advances in Sociology research
The Vulnerable in International Society by Ian Clark
ISBN: 0199646082
Publication Date: 2013-08-24
Through an innovative application of English School theory, this book suggests that people are vulnerable not only to natural risks, but also to the workings of international society.
Classical social theory in use : interpretation and application for educators and other non-specialists by Robert Bickel
ISBN: 1623960703
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
This book provides an introduction to classical social theory through discussion, application, and synthesis of the work of Karl Marx, Emile Durkheim, and George Herbert Mead.
Public sociology research, action, and change by Philip W. Nyden; Leslie Hossfeld; Gwendolyn Nyden
ISBN: 1452224099
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
The book highlights a variety of ways in which sociology brings about social change in community settings, assists nonprofit and social service organizations in their work, and influences policy at the local, regional, and national levels.
Urban Planning Against Poverty How to Think and Do Better Cities in the Global South by Jean-Claude Bolay
ISBN: 3030284182
Publication Date: 2019-11-20
This open access book revisits the theoretical foundations of urban planning and the application of these concepts and methods in the context of Southern countries by examining several case studies from different regions of the world.

Search SUSS Library

Click here to search SUSS Library for more resources

Journals

Search eJournals

Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Cambridge Core: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Cambridge Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS) journal collection contains 272 journals covering a wide range of subjects such as area studies, classics, economics, history, language and linguistics, law, literature, philosophy, politics and international relations, psychology, religious studies and social studies.

Includes:
Ageing and Society
American Political Science Review
English Today
Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Political Science Research and Methods
eBooks (EBSCO)
EBSCO Academic Collection
EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO Open Access eBook Collection

Access our main collection of electronic books (EBSCO eBook Collection) as well as 210,000 ebooks from EBSCO's eBook Academic Collection and eBook Open Access Collection covering Business and Economics, Digital Marketing, Education, Film Studies, Language Arts and Disciplines, Literary Criticism, Political Science, Psychotherapy, Social Science, and Technology and Engineering.

EBSCO has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here
eBooks (ProQuest Ebook Central)
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: ProQuest Ebook Central, Open Access Complete
Access our main collection of purchased and open access electronic books (approximately 3,000) from ProQuest Ebook Central covering Business and Management, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Engineering, Law, Political Science, and Social Science.
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald eJournal collections feature 170,000 articles from more than 300 journals, providing comprehensive coverage of management and complementary specialist subjects. Subscribed collections include: Accounting, Finance and Economics; Business, Management and Strategy; Education; Engineering; Health and Social Care; HR, Learning and Organization Studies; Information and Knowledge Management; Marketing; Operations, Logistics and Quality; Property Management & Built Environment; Public Policy and Environmental Management; and Tourism and Hospitality Management.
Emerald Insight: Public Policy and Environmental Management eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Access 13 journals exploring key challenges facing researchers and policy-makers
worldwide, from climate change to disaster risk management. Key titles include: Disaster Prevention and Management, International Journal of Public Sector Management, Policing: An International Journal. Title List
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a global news database of nearly 33,000 premium sources, including newspapers, licensed publications, influential websites and blogs.
FAQ on Factiva
Guide from Factiva

Dow Jones has upgraded the Factiva platform recently. You can choose to switch over to the new Factiva interface to experience the new searching features.

User Guide for the New Factiva Interface:
New Factiva Experience
Web recording
Tip: Please enter rst=ftft if you are searching for a specific source such as "Financial Times".
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, books and primary sources in 60 disciplines covering humanities, social sciences, and sciences across all 15 Arts & Sciences collections. JSTOR's coverage begins with the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Title Lists.
JSTOR's guides include: How To Use JSTOR (for students) and How To Search JSTOR.
JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access 184 ebooks most sought after by SUSS library users in 2020. Access is DRM-free (Digital Rights Management-free) with no restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads and printing.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) is an online learning platform with over 10,096 courses by industry experts to help users develop business, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Available on any device.

FAQ: How to Access LinkedIn Learning

FAQ: How to create and manage a learning path or curate a collection in LinkedIn Learning
National Service-Learning Clearinghouse This link opens in a new window
The platform curates Service-Learning community resources and initiatives for public access. A digital repository for Service-Learning research, policies, pedagogies, and programmes in Singapore. First announced during the 7th Asia-Pacific Regional Conference on Service-Learning (APRCSL), the National Service-Learning Clearinghouse is the first of its kind in Singapore. If you would like to contribute Service-Learning resources to the National Service-Learning Clearinghouse, please contact slclearinghouse@suss.edu.sg for more information.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O'Reilly for Higher Education (previously known as Safari Technical Books) is a training and learning platform on information technology and business. It contains more than 35,000 ebooks, 2,000 videos, 4,600 courses, learning paths, playlists, and case studies on emerging trends such as artificial intelligence, big data, financial technology (FinTech), and gaming. Participating publishers include Addison-Wesley Professional, IBM Redbooks, McGraw-Hill, Microsoft Press, O'Reilly Media, and Packt Publishing.

Please refer to the FAQ on the access method.
You can also refer to the user guide for details.
Oxford Academic : Books This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press has moved its major electronic book collections to the Oxford Academic where the journals are also available. Our collection of 179 Oxford Scholarship e-books acquired through their Evidence-based model is accessible on this platform. Subjects include History, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religion, Sociology, Law, Social Work, Psychology, Political Science, Mathematics, and Business & Management.
Oxford Academic: Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
The Oxford University Press Social Sciences collection contains over 80 journals covering subjects such as economics, sociology, political science, social work, communication and law. Notable titles include Quarterly Journal of Economics; The Review of Financial Studies; The Journal of Communication, Human Communication Research, Communication Theory and Public Opinion Quarterly. Title List

Includes: Applied Linguistics, English Language Teaching Journal (ELT Journal), The Gerontologist, Migration Studies, Screen, Social Problems, Work, Aging and Retirement
Project MUSE: Humanities Collection; Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Access 330 journals from leading universities and scholarly societies covering such areas as literature, area and ethnic studies, religion, philosophy, political science, history, film and media studies, music, education, economics, and medicine and health. Project MUSE also offers 5 Open Access journals and over 4,000 Open Access books. Title List
SAGE Premier This link opens in a new window
Access 1,100 social sciences and humanities journals from SAGE Premier, including titles published on behalf of over 400 scholarly and professional societies.

Title List
Includes:
American Educational Research Journal
Body & Society
Contemporary Issues in Early Childhood
The Counseling Psychologist
Cultural Sociology
Culture & Psychology
Current Sociology
Educational and Psychological Measurement
Families in Society
The Family Journal
Gender & Society
Group & Organization Management
Group Processes & Intergroup Relations
Journal of Career Development
Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
Journal of Consumer Culture
Journal of Cross-Cultural Psychology
Journal of Early Childhood Research
Journal of Family Issues
Journal of Health Psychology
Journal of Psychoeducational Assessment
Journal of Management
Journal of Social Work
Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin
Psychological Science
RELC Journal
Social Compass
Sociology
Theory, Culture & Society
Urban Studies
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools, and contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since it focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
ScienceDirect Journals: Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Access 227 subscribed journals in Elsevier's Social Sciences collection, highlighting historical context, current developments, applications, trends and more. Tutorials
You can also find the following journals:
Cognition
Cognitive Psychology
Early Childhood Research Quarterly
English for Specific Purposes
Journal of English for Academic Purposes
Journal of Pragmatics
Learning and Instruction
Sociology Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 1,072 full-text journals and magazines, and indexes books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources for comprehensive research. Subjects include: deviant behavior; discrimination; economic development; family relationships; gender identity; migration; population growth; poverty and wealth; religious faith; social movements.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista provides access to statistics and studies on over 80,000 topics and areas of interest, categorized into 22 industry sectors with approximately 600 markets and industries. The database collects, evaluates, and publishes key statistics on relevant subjects, providing users with a comprehensive overview of available data on a specific topic, with source data for some subjects extending from the early 20th century to the present.
Straits Times, The This link opens in a new window
The Straits Times covers a wide range of news from different regions with in-depth analyses, impactful commentaries and breaking stories. This subscription provides access to the daily news with a 2-week archive. Note: You will need to allow all third-party cookies in your browser settings to access The Straits Times.
Concurrent users: 10. Please log out after use.
Newslink This link opens in a new window
Newslink is a newspaper database that offers archived news articles, photographs, infographics and PDF copies of 18 newspapers published by Singapore Press Holdings (SPH), namely The Straits Times, The Sunday Times, The Business Times, The Business Times Weekend, The New Paper, The New Paper on Sunday, Tabla, Tamil Murasu, Berita Harian, Berita Minggu, Lianhe Zaobao, My Paper, Shin Min Daily News, Lianhe Wanbao, Friday Weekly, Thumbs Up, Thumbs Up Junior and STEP. See more info here.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access the collection of Taylor and Francis ebooks covering social sciences, humanities and engineering & Technology.

Taylor & Francis has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here
Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
The Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities (SSH) Library provides access to over 1,450 journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines, including: arts and humanities; business management and economics; criminology and law; education; geography, planning, urban and environment; media, cultural and communication studies; mental health and social care; politics, international relations and area studies; psychology; sociology; sports, leisure and tourism; and strategic defence and security studies. Title List
Includes:
Asian Journal of Communication
Classroom Discourse
Journal of Positive Psychology
The Translator

In addition, these have also been subscribed:
Asia Pacific Journal of Counselling and Psychotherapy
Asia Pacific Journal of Social Work and Development
Higher Education Research and Development
Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Technology, Pedagogy and Education
Wiley eBooks This link opens in a new window
Our collection of 214 Wiley Online Library e-books acquired through their EBA model. Subjects include art and applied arts, business, economics, finance and accounting, humanities, law and criminology, social and behavioural sciences, and psychology.
Wiley Online Library: Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) Journals This link opens in a new window
Explore 511 journals available in Wiley Social Sciences and Humanities collections. Subjects covered are Anthropology, Architecture & Planning, Art & Applied Arts, Business, Classical Studies, Communication & Media Studies, Computer Science & Information Technology, Chemistry, Criminology, Earth, Space & Environmental Science, Economics, Film Studies, Finance & Accounting, Geography, Linguistics, Literature, Mathematics & Statistics, Physical Sciences & Engineering, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion & Theology, Social & Behavioral Sciences, and Sociology.
The collection provides access to content covering the period from 1997 to date.

Wiley User Guide

For the complete list of databases, go to Databases A-Z

NLB eResources

For additional databases, go to NLB eResources

Links beyond SUSS

Links Beyond SUSS

Singapore

International

Sociology

About this guide

About this guide

Welcome to our Sociology Research Guide

Books

Spotlight on eBooks

Search SUSS Library

Click here to search SUSS Library for more resources

Journals

Search eJournals

Suggested Journals

Databases

Databases

Links beyond SUSS

Links Beyond SUSS