Skip to main content

Gerontology

Guide to finding articles, books and media about gerontology in SUSS and elsewhere.

Getting Started

Welcome to our Gerontology Research Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at SUSS Library and beyond for researchers in Gerontology. Use the tabs on the left for finding articles, books, background information and more.

Books

Sample Keywords

Sample keywords in gerontology include the following. When you find appropriate items, use keywords and subject headings from the records) to improve your subsequent searches.

  • Alzheimer*
  • aging
  • aged
  • elderly
  • geriatric*
  • gerontology


Also consider:

  • adjustment in old age
  • elder planning
  • psychology in old age
  • long term care
  • medicare
  • older people
  • positive ageing
  • social work with older people

Journals

Search e-journals

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ageing International

     

     Aging & Mental Health

      . 

     Experimental Aging Research

     

     Journal of Aging Studies

     

     Journal of Cross-Cultural Gerontology

Databases

To access the complete listing of databases, go to Databases A-Z.
 

Academic Search Premier

A popular resource found in many scholarly settings worldwide, Academic Search Premier is a leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines and other valuable resources.

 

Emerald Journals (Health & Social Care Collection)

Real-world scenarios like inequalities in healthcare provision, parity of physical and mental health and caring for an ageing population and recommended improvements and solutions from leading thinkers in the field.
 

JSTOR

Full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, books and primary sources in 60 disciplines across all 15 Arts & Sciences collections. JSTOR's coverage begins at the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Title Lists

 

PsycARTICLES

​​Article catalogue of research published by the American Psychological Association and affiliated journals.


​PsycTESTS

Extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioural and social sciences.


SAGE Journals (SAGE Humanities and Social Science 2018 Collection)

High-quality journals across the social science disciplines and discover widely-cited works of leading authors, researchers and societies across disciplines such as psychology, sociology, health and behavioural sciences.


Social Work Abstracts

Useful across many disciplines, including family studies, psychology and social work.


​SocINDEX with Full-Text

Broad range of studies, including social psychology and social work.

 

Taylor and Francis Online: Social Sciences and Humanities Library

Provides access to over 1,400 journals (Journal Title List) spanning a broad range of academic disciplines, including: arts and humanities; business management and economics; criminology and law; education; geography, planning, urban and environment; media, cultural and communication studies; mental health and social care; politics, international relations and area studies; psychology; sociology; sports, leisure and tourism; and strategic defence and security studies. 

 

SAGE Research Tools

A suite of tools for your quantitative and qualitative research:

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods Cases 

SAGE Research Methods Datasets


Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

Independent, community-curated online directory of high-quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.


​OMICS International

Online publishing house that promotes scientific research via its open access journals and by organizing international conferences.
 

PubMed

Millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Loading ...

Help Guides & Tutorials

Search

Learn the basics of searching in this handy tutorial.


Advanced Search

Find out about the advanced search functionality of the Emerald research platform.

Loading ...

Videos

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Provides faculty and students with a first-hand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. These collections provide a thorough grounding in dozens of therapeutic methods and diagnoses, insight into the human condition, and training in skills such as reflection and empathy while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.

Links Beyond SUSS

Statistical Datasets and Publications

Loading ...

Citation Help