Skip to main content

HRM355 Leadership Development

A Resource Guide for HRM355 Leadership Development

Getting Started

Getting Started

This library guide serves as a little resource list for students of HRM355 Leadership Development (or if you would simply like to learn more about Leadership Development through reading).

Learn how to search for the materials you need, discover some keywords and key phrases you could use, and check out our suggested journals and databases.

For further questions, please Ask the Library by emailing us at ask@suss.libanswers.com.

Sample Keywords

Sample keywords in Leadership Development include the following. When you find appropriate items, use keywords and subject headings from the records to improve your subsequent searches.
  • Leadership development
  • Human resource and development
  • Manangement structures and organsations
  • Transformational leadership
  • Authentic leadership
  • Servant leadership
  • Path-goal theory
 
​Also, consider combining your topic with these terms:
  • Leadership AND business
  • Leadership AND mindsets
  • Leadership AND motivation
  • Leadership AND gender

 

Access SUSS Library


 



Search SUSS Library: 

Advanced Search | Journals A-Z | Databases A-Z | Browse | Research Guides | FAQs

Books

Recommended by the Lecturer

(Hover your mouse over the titles for descriptions of the books!)

Some eBook Recommendations

Here are some eBooks we've picked out for you, which we believe to be relevant for HRM355 Leadership Development.

While these resources are here to support your research and learning, do check with your lecturer(s) on the required/necessary readings for your course.

This list is sorted alphabetically by the author(s)'s last name.

(Hover your mouse over the titles for descriptions of the books!)

Journals

Search eJournals

Search e-journals

Leadership and Strategic Management Journals

Relevant Journals

 

    

  

 

(from top right to bottom left, horizontally:)

  1. Harvard Business Review from Business Source Complete by EBSCO
  2. Human Resource Management Journal by Wiley
  3. Leadership & Organisation Development Journal
  4. Leadership Quarterly in Science Direct Social Sciences Collection
  5. Leadership from SAGE HSS
  6. Leadership in Health Services by Canadian Healthcare Association (from ABI/INFORM Collection)
  7. School Leadership & Management
   

Suggested Readings

(Once again, these are readings to supplement your research and learning. Do check with your lecturer(s) for the required readings for your course.)

  • Leadership Development: Leadership Emergence to Leadership Effectiveness from Small Group Research 2019
    "This study aimed to understand how leadership effectiveness of the trainer in a leadership development program can influence emerging leaders’ development and effectiveness. [...] Results indicate that informal emerging leaders are more likely to develop into highly effective formal leaders when supervised by effective trainers."

 

 

  • Emotional Intelligence and Leadership Development from Public Personnel Management
    "This paper reviews the current literature on the concept of emotional intelligence and makes recommendations for incorporating emotional intelligence into leadership development programs."

Databases

Relevant Databases

Here are some databases we believe would be most relevant to HRM355 Leadership Development.

Should you be looking for a more interdisciplinary approach (e.g. exploring the intersections of business and psychology, or business behaviour), we would recommend you expand your search to other databases, too (e.g. expanding your search to Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection).

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning is an online learning platform with over 13,000 courses. A few relevant examples for HRM355 Leadership Development might include:

Help Guides & Tutorials

Search

Learn the basics of searching in this handy tutorial.


Advanced Search

Find out about the advanced search functionality of the Emerald research platform.