A Guide for the School of Humanities and Behavioural Sciences

Welcome to our Guide for the School of Humanities and Behavioural Sciences

This guide is meant to provide an overview of the resources available at the SUSS Library for the School of Humanities and Behavioural Sciences. Use the tabs on the left to find eBooks, eJournals, databases, and more.

Chinese Language and Literature and Chinese Studies

• Tsing hua journal of Chinese studies
• Chinese studies international
• American journal of Chinese studies

Click here to look up the journals in our Chinese Language Library Resources guide. 

Language and Literature 

• Language and literature
• NTU studies in language and literature
• Journal of language, literature and culture
• 3L, language, linguistics, literature.
• English education 
• English journal 
• Contemporary literature
• Comparative literature

Sociology 

• Critical sociology
• Current sociology
• American journal of sociology
• Journal of applied sociology
• Qualitative sociology 
• International journal of sociology

Click here to look up the journals in our Sociology research guide. 

Translation and Interpretation 

• Translation review .  
• 翻译学报/#/翻譯學報 [[fan yi xue bao]].
• Perspectives: Studies in translation theory and practice.
• Translation studies
• Babel international journal of translation
• Journal of interpretation research
• Legacy

Communication 

• Communication theory
• International communication gazette 
• Communication & Society
• Journal of mass media ethics
• Critical studies in media communication

Public Safety and Security 

• Journal of safety research
• Cybersecurity
• Journal of cybersecurity and privacy
• The journal of media literacy education
• Studies in media & information literacy education: SIMILE
• Journal of contingencies and crisis management
• Social justice 
• Information security journal
• Security studies

Psychology 

• Developmental psychology
• Experimental psychology
• Applied psychology
• Cognitive psychology
• Social psychology quarterly
• Journal of community psychology
• Reading psychology
• Culture & psychology 
• Theory & psychology

Applied Research in Social Science 

• Journal of applied research in higher education
• Programme grants for applied research
• Applied research in quality of life
• Social science research
• Journal of applied social science
• Asia-Pacific social science review
• The social science journal

Applied Linguistics 

• Linguistic inquiry 
• Natural language & linguistic theory
• Applied linguistics
• International journal of applied linguistics 
• Annual review of applied linguistics
• Journal of Pan-Pacific Association of Applied Linguistics
• International review of applied linguistics in language teaching : IRAL

Go to the Journals section to search for other journals from SUSS Library. 

Chinese Language and Literature and Chinese Studies

• Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre: Offers cultural workshops and events with language learning opportunities.
• Singapore Centre for Chinese Language (SCCL): Focuses on research and development in Chinese language education and applied linguistics.

Click here to view the links beyond SUSS in the Chinese Language Library Resources guide.  

Malay Language and Literature 

• Malay Heritage Centre: The centre offers various resources and exhibitions on Malay heritage, including literature.
• Malay Language Learning and Promotion Committee (MLLPC): The committee offers resources and initiatives to promote learning Malay language and literature.

English Language and Literature  

• Project Gutenberg: Offers over 60,000 free eBooks, including many classic works of English literature.
• Literature.org: An online library of classic English literature, providing free access to works from authors like Jane Austen, Charles Dickens, and Mark Twain.
• SingLit Station: A non-profit organization that aims to promote Singaporean literature. They offer literary events, writing workshops, and educational resources.
• Poetry.sg: An online archive dedicated to Singapore poetry, featuring works by local poets, critical essays, and multimedia resources.

Sociology 

• Ministry of Social and Family Development (MSF): Offers reports, publications, and data on social development, family issues, and community support in Singapore.
• International Sociology Association: The International Sociological Association (ISA) was founded in 1949 under the auspices of UNESCO. 
• MCCY KAYA: Singapore Stories: Read about Singaporeans leading the charge in arts, heritage, community, youth and sports. Celebrate the stories and people who make our nation unique.
• Singapore Department of Statistics: Provides statistical data and reports relevant to social and demographic trends in Singapore.

Tamil Language and Literature 

• Tamil Language Learning and Promotion Committee (TLLPC): The committee aims to promote the learning and use of the Tamil language in Singapore. It offers resources and organises events related to Tamil language and literature. 
• Association of Singapore Tamil Writers:  An organisation promoting Tamil literature in Singapore. Their website provides information on events, publications, and literary activities.
• NLB Tamil eBooks: A collection of Tamil language e-books with titles from various subject interests, such as poetry, literature, and novels. 

Translation and Interpretation 

• SG Translate Together: As part of the Government’s efforts to raise the overall translation and language standards in Singapore, the Ministry of Digital Development and Information (MDDI) is calling for volunteers with a passion for language and translation to join as “Citizen Translators”, an initiative under the National Translation Committee (NTC), and part of the SG Together Movement.
• National Translation Committee (NTC): Established to oversee and promote high standards in translation and interpretation in Singapore. The website provides information on guidelines, resources, and events.

Communication 

• Media Development Authority of Singapore (IMDA): Provides resources and support for the media and communication industry in Singapore, including policies, funding opportunities, and industry news.
• Asian Media Information and Communication Centre (AMIC): A non-profit organisation promoting Asian media and communication research and development. The website offers access to publications, research, and events.
• International Communication Association (ICA): Provides resources, publications, and a network for scholars interested in communication research.

Public Safety and Security 

• Cyber Security Agency of Singapore (CSA): Provides comprehensive information on cybersecurity policies, guidelines, and resources for individuals and organisations. 
• GovTech Singapore: The government agency driving Singapore’s Smart Nation initiative, providing resources and updates on digital security.
• Home Team Academy (HTA): Offers training and resources for crisis management, public safety, and security professionals in Singapore.
• Media Literacy Council (MLC):The MLC promotes media literacy and cybersecurity awareness in Singapore. Their website offers resources, campaigns, and programs to help individuals and families navigate the digital world safely and responsibly.

Psychology  

• Singapore Psychological Society (SPS): Singapore's official society for psychologists. They provide resources, events, and information on psychology in Singapore.
• Singapore Association for Mental Health (SAMH): This organisation focuses on mental health advocacy, support services, and community resources.
• Psychology Today: An online platform that covers a wide range of psychology-related topics, including articles, blogs, and resources on mental health.

Applied Research in Social Science 

• Singapore Social Science Research Council (SSRC): Funds and supports social science research projects in Singapore. Their website provides information on funded projects and research outputs. 
• Institute of Policy Studies (IPS) - Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy: Conducts research and provides publications on social issues and public policy in Singapore.
• Singapore Economic Development Board (EDB): This board offers reports and insights into economic and social trends impacting Singapore, which can be useful for applied research.
• Singapore Institute of International Affairs (SIIA): This institute focuses on research and analysis of international affairs and socio-economic issues affecting Singapore and the region.

Applied Linguistics 

• Singapore Association for Applied Linguistics (SAAL): Promotes research and practice in applied linguistics through conferences, seminars, and publications.
• SG101 Singlish and our National Identity: Learn more about the history of Singlish and how it has shaped our local identity and culture. 
• Center for Applied Linguistics (CAL): Conducts research and provides resources on language education, policy, and assessment.

NLB eResources: For additional databases, browse the National Library Board eResources page.