Research Guides: Early Childhood Education: Databases

About this guide

Welcome to our Early Childhood Education Research Guide

This guide is meant to give an overview of materials and resources available at SUSS Library and beyond for researchers in Early Childhood Education. Use the tabs on the left for finding articles, books, background information and more.

Here are some examples of keywords and phrases which can be used when searching for early childhood

education resources in SUSS Library

child care services
child development
child care-- government policy
differentiated instruction strategies
early learning
early childhood educators
education, preschool
behavioral assessment of children
early childhood education-- curricula
child rearing-- cross-cultural studies
play
preschool children-- psychology
professional development of teachers
education, preschool-- activity programs
reflective teaching
self-regulation

Books

Play-Responsive Teaching in Early Childhood Education

Methodology for Research with Early Childhood Education and Care Professionals Example Studies and Theoretical Elaboration

Early Childhood Policies and Systems in Eight Countries

Contemporary perspectives on research on motivation in early childhood education

Early childhood education history, theory, and practice

Early Childhood Matters

Early childhood education and care policy and practice

Open-ended Art for Young Children: Moving Beyond the Basics

Pre-K StoriesPre-K Stories Playing with Authorship and Integrating Curriculum in Early Childhood

Guiding Principles for the New Early Childhood Professional: Building on Strength and Competence

The Hundred Languages of Children: The Reggio Emilia Experience in Transformation

Teaching and Learning in a Diverse World Multicultural Education for Young Children

Contemporary perspectives on play in early childhood education

Perspectives and provocations in early childhood education. Volume 2

Contemporary perspectives and research on early childhood education

Click here to search SUSS Library for more resources

Journals

Suggested Journals

Go to the Journals section of SUSS Library to search for other journals.

Databases

China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
The subscription covers the following 2 collections:
Series F - Literature/ History/ Philosophy 哲學與人文科學
Series H - Education and Social Sciences 教育與社會科學綜合 and Preschool Education 學前教育

FAQs on CNKI are here.
Education Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Education Collection provides abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including full- text from hundreds of leading education journals.
ProQuest has provided additional product information and 'Search Tips' here.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources dating back to 1966. It includes a variety of sources such as journal articles, books, conference papers, curriculum guides, dissertations and policy papers. Contains more than 1.6 million records and links to nearly 750,000 full-text documents as well as an education-specific thesaurus containing over 11,700 terms. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.
Emerald Insight: Education eJournal Collection This link opens in a new window
Access 23 subscribed journals covering core themes and topics in education. Key titles include: Journal of Educational Administration, Journal of Professional Capital and Community, International Journal of Sustainability in Higher Education, Journal for Multicultural Education. Title List
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, books and primary sources in 60 disciplines covering humanities, social sciences, and sciences across all 15 Arts & Sciences collections. JSTOR's coverage begins with the first issue of each journal and usually ends within five years of the present. Title Lists.
JSTOR's guides include: How To Use JSTOR (for students) and How To Search JSTOR.
OECD iLibrary: Education This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary (previously SourceOECD) is the main publishing platform Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. It contains publications such as books, papers and statistical reports from OECD’s analysis and data. OECD Education iLibrary includes over 1,160 ebooks, 8,260 chapters, 1,200 papers, and 12,410 tables/graphs.

OECD’s work on education includes the gathering of statistical data, the conduct of policy reviews and analysis, and the use of survey data to improve learning outcome (PISA). OECD work also covers research into early childhood education and care, teaching quality and recruitment, e-learning and lifelong learning.

For more details, please refer to these videos:
Discover OECD iLibrary.
How are reports and data produced by the OECD?.
SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s book, journal and reference content with advanced search and discovery tools, and contains content from over 720 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire “Little Green Book,” and "Little Blue Book” series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and specially commissioned videos. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since it focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Taylor & Francis: Social Sciences & Humanities Library This link opens in a new window
The Taylor & Francis Social Sciences & Humanities (SSH) Library provides access to over 1,450 journals spanning a broad range of academic disciplines, including: arts and humanities; business management and economics; criminology and law; education; geography, planning, urban and environment; media, cultural and communication studies; mental health and social care; politics, international relations and area studies; psychology; sociology; sports, leisure and tourism; and strategic defence and security studies. Title List
Includes:
Asian Journal of Communication
Classroom Discourse
Journal of Positive Psychology
The Translator

In addition, these have also been subscribed:
Asia Pacific Journal of Counselling and Psychotherapy
Asia Pacific Journal of Social Work and Development
Higher Education Research and Development
Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education
Journal of Popular Film and Television
Technology, Pedagogy and Education

For the complete list of databases, go to Databases A-Z

NLB eResources

For additional databases, go to NLB eResources

Videos

Links Beyond SUSS

Singapore

International

Early Childhood Education

About this guide

Welcome to our Early Childhood Education Research Guide

Here are some examples of keywords and phrases which can be used when searching for early childhood

education resources in SUSS Library

child care services

child development

child care-- government policy

differentiated instruction strategies

early learning

early childhood educators

education, preschool

behavioral assessment of children

early childhood education-- curricula

child rearing-- cross-cultural studies

play

preschool children-- psychology

professional development of teachers

education, preschool-- activity programs

reflective teaching

self-regulation

Books

Journals

Suggested Journals

Databases

Databases

Videos

Videos

Links Beyond SUSS

Links Beyond SUSS